Sports and Scores
 
NBA Basketball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions

Cavaliers-Celtics Preview

By BRETT HUSTON

STATS Editor

(AP) -- The Boston Celtics went into their lengthy holiday break with three losses in five nights, leaving them grateful for a chance to regroup.

The Cleveland Cavaliers figure to be happy they won't have to wait very long to put their latest defeat behind them.

Both the Celtics and Cavaliers will try to avoid a fourth consecutive loss Saturday at TD Garden, with Boston playing for the first time in six days and Cleveland trying to recover from a considerably more recent heartbreaker.

The Celtics (12-17) blew a 27-point lead in a 107-106 loss to Detroit on Dec. 18, then coughed up an 18-point cushion in falling to Washington 106-99 last Saturday. They were blown out 106-79 at Indiana a night later.

A five-day layoff after Boston's most lopsided loss of the season was exactly what forward Jared Sullinger thought his team needed.

"I thought it helped us out big time because we got to put it in the rear-view mirror," Sullinger told the team's official Twitter feed Friday.

Brad Stevens doesn't think rust will be an issue.

"I've had 13 straight years of this break," the former Butler coach said. "I kind of know how to manage the days leading up to the first game."

The Cavaliers (10-18) have lost five of six, two of which came in particularly grueling fashion. Portland's Damian Lillard hit a 3-pointer with 0.4 seconds left to hand Cleveland a 119-116 loss Dec. 17, then Atlanta's Jeff Teague knocked down a 20-footer as time expired Thursday to give the Hawks a 127-125 double-overtime win at Quicken Loans Arena.

"He made a tough play," said Kyrie Irving, who finished with 40 points and nine assists but also six of the Cavaliers' season high-tying 24 turnovers. "It's definitely a heartbreaker."

Irving has accounted for four of the 13 games this season in which a player has put up at least 39 points - no one else has more than two - but his last two trips to Boston haven't gone well. He missed 16 of 20 shots in a 97-91 Cavaliers win April 5, then had two of his 18 points after halftime in a 103-86 loss Nov. 29.

Cleveland is 5-1 this season when Irving scores more than 30 points and 5-17 when he doesn't.

Conversely, big scoring efforts from Dion Waiters have meant little. The second-year guard returned from a three-game absence Thursday to put up 20 points off the bench, but the Cavaliers fell to 4-13 when Waiters cracks double figures - including a 21-point performance in Boston last month.

They're 6-5 when he's been held to fewer than 10 or hasn't played.

Regardless of the results, Irving's and Waiters' ability to score has Stevens' attention.

"I think they've figured out what they do best, and they have a couple of guards who can get wherever they want," Stevens said.

Boston's Jeff Green has struggled recently, averaging 10.6 points on 37.7 percent shooting over his last five games, but he's been a huge problem for a Cleveland team with a revolving door at the small forward position. Green has averaged 25.0 points in his last three against the Cavaliers, including a season-high 31 last month.

While the Celtics wait for Rajon Rondo to recover, their current starting backcourt has made some strides. Avery Bradley has averaged 17.0 points and 51.4 percent shooting in his last five games while Jordan Crawford has had four 20-point games this month.

Crawford had his third career triple-double (11 points, 11 rebounds, 10 assists) while Bradley had 21 points on 9-of-11 shooting last month against Cleveland.

Updated December 27, 2013

? © 2014 by STATS LLC and Associated Press.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC and Associated Press is strictly prohibited.

Audio On Demand

Michael Irvin with Dale a…

Michael Irvin with Dale and Holley

The playmaker, Hall of Famer Michael Irvin checks in and helps us set the stage for Broncos and Patriots this Sunday in Foxboro.

Kyle Arrington previews Pats-Broncos 10-31-14

Kyle Arrington, filing in for Devin MCcourty, previews Pats-Broncos

Adam Schefter, ESPN: Previews Patriots-Broncos 10-31-14

Adam Schefter, ESPN Insider, joins the guys to talk Pats-Broncos, Brady-Manning and the rest of the NFL.

We Hate Dwyane Wade - Ope…

We Hate Dwyane Wade - Opening Night 10-28-14

Its time to start the season for the Celtics! We talk about the things we like about the Celtics and the things we dont like very much. Plus Sam feels like a jerk for laughing at Julius Randle.

We Hate Dwyane Wade - Ranking the Best/Worst in the NBA

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, Celtics will struggle to make the playoffs. 10-23-14

Jackie MacMullan joins MFB for the first time this season. She discusses the rejection of NBA lottery reform, Rajon Rondo, and the Celtics chances this season.

The Hot Stove Show Is Bac…

The Hot Stove Show Is Back!

Mut, Rob Bradford and Alex Speier are back and talking not only Red Sox, but MLB Hot Stove. They talk with Red Sox GM Ben Cherington, and take some phone calls about some of the Red Sox potential moves.

Ben Cherington kicks off the Hot Stove Season

Mut, Rob Bradford, and Alex Speier talk with Red Sox GM Ben Cherington. Ben addresses some questions regarding Will Middlebrooks, Rusney Castillo, as well as Yoenis Cespedes' future with the club.

Joe Castiglione wraps up the 2014 Red Sox Season with a Poem

Joe Castiglione does his annual wrap-up of the season by reading the poem by Bart Giamatti.

NESN's Jack Edwards with …

NESN's Jack Edwards with Dale and Holley

We discuss the Bruins blown 2 goal lead against the Wild at the Garden and where they go from here with the great Jack Edwards of NESN.

Andy Brickley - "In the 6 losses, the mistakes are all the same." 10-29-14

NESN's Andy Brickley joined the show following Boston's 4-3 loss to the Minnesota Wild. Brick talked about Patrice Bergeron's line getting beat a lot, the Bruins' lack of focus in their 6 losses, and the big blow to the defense with Torey Krug's injury.

Joe McDonald, ESPN Boston, reacts to the Chara Injury 10-24-14

Joe McDonald joins the guys to talk to about the Chara injury and how the Bruins will move forward without him.

Goodbye Nesn hello lap da…

Goodbye Nesn hello lap dance 10-31-14

Happy birthday Kirk!!!!

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Ebola nurse 10-31-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane.

Halloween on D&C 10-31-14

The guys got dressed up for Kirk's 40th.

Happy Birthday Kirk Minih…

Happy Birthday Kirk Minihane 10-31-13

MFB and the callers wish a very Happy 40th Birthday to Kirk Minihane

Adam Schefter, ESPN: Previews Patriots-Broncos 10-31-14

Adam Schefter, ESPN Insider, joins the guys to talk Pats-Broncos, Brady-Manning and the rest of the NFL.

Three For All- Dont Eat Poop 10-31-14

Three For All, Ebola Scare

Brady-Manning 16: Final t…

Brady-Manning 16: Final thoughts and analysis with Tom E. Curran

Dale, Steve DeOssie and Tom E Curran of CSNNE put the final touches on a week of discussion about the upcoming showdown in Foxboro vs. the Denver Broncos on Sunday.

Michael Irvin: Pats have the corners to attack the Broncos like Seattle did

The playmaker, Hall of Famer Michael Irvin checks in and helps us set the stage for Broncos and Patriots this Sunday in Foxboro.

Get well soon Bob Neumier

We send out well wishes to our friend and colleague Bob 'Neumy' Neumier

10 Years since the Red So…

10 Years since the Red Sox began their comeback and eventual World Series Championship

Mikey, Villani and Lenny are talking about the 2004 Red Sox on the anniversary of Game 4 of the ALCS with Dave Roberts steal abd Bill Mueller driving him in and what it was like to witness.

The Patriots record during the regular season and Super Bowl

Mikey, Mut and Lenny are talking about the Patriots and how they have stacked up through the years and what got them to the three championships and five Super Bowl appearances in the Brady-Belichick era.

Bill Belichick and the Patriots Draft History

Mikey and Mut take a call from someone who wants to criticize Belichick the GM and his history of drafting players and making moves in the draft.

SoccerCast - Brad Feldman…

SoccerCast - Brad Feldman/Playoffs Preview

The playoffs are here and we are ready! Brad Feldman joins the show to talk about the Revs vs the Crew. We also talk about the newest addition to the MLS.

We Hate Dwyane Wade - Opening Night 10-28-14

Its time to start the season for the Celtics! We talk about the things we like about the Celtics and the things we dont like very much. Plus Sam feels like a jerk for laughing at Julius Randle.

College Puckcast: BC’s injury scare, Jack Eichel’s hot start 10-28-14

WEEI.com’s Scott McLaughlin is joined by Joe Meloni of College Hockey News on the first episode of the College Puckcast. They talk about the wrist injury that will sideline Boston College defenseman Steve Santini until at least January, as well as the good start for Boston University and its star freshman, Jack Eichel. Other topics include fast starts for Vermont and UMass-Lowell and slow starts for Providence and Northeastern.

Goodbye Nesn hello lap da…

Brady vs. Manning XVI 10-…

Brady vs. Manning XVI 10-29-14

The guys discussed the upcoming Brady Manning match up.

More from this show

Halloween on D&C 10-31-14

Halloween on D&C 10-31-14

The guys got dressed up for Kirk's 40th.

More from this show

Headlines, Headlines, Hea…

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Baker Coakley debate 10-29-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane.

More from this show

Kirk vs. Joe in Taunton 1…

Kirk vs. Joe in Taunton 10-29-14

Joe challenged Kirk to a fight.

More from this show

Weei Writers