Sports and Scores
 
MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#27
Jose Altuve
AVG HR RBI
.341 7 59
Team: HoustonHt / Wt: 5-5 / 173 NFBC ADP: 92.64
Position: 2BBorn: 5/6/1990 Birthplace: Maracay, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Astros (2006)


Latest News
Sep. 30 11:54 AM PT12:54 PM MT1:54 PM CT2:54 PM ET14:54 ET18:54 GMT2:54 11:54 AM MST1:54 PM EST2:24 PM VEN22:54 UAE1:54 PM CT-Altuve and Colorado's Justin Morneau, the two league batting champions, will be on the roster for the Major League Baseball all-star postseason tour of Japan.
Analysis: Washington's Bryce Harper also was added Tuesday for the trip, which includes a five-game series against Japan's national team from Nov. 12-18 that will be preceded and followed by exhibition games.
Sep. 28 10:19 AM PT11:19 AM MT12:19 PM CT1:19 PM ET13:19 ET17:19 GMT1:19 10:19 AM MST12:19 PM EST12:49 PM VEN21:19 UAE12:19 PM CT-Altuve has been added to the Houston Astros' lineup after the team reversed course on its original decision to bench him - against his wishes - in an attempt to protect his lead in the American League batting race.
Analysis: Altuve said all along he wanted to play Sunday against the Mets, but general manager Jeff Luhnow and interim manager Tom Lawless told the All-Star second baseman in the morning he would not be in the lineup. He went 0 for 4 on Saturday.
Sep. 21 1:55 PM PT2:55 PM MT3:55 PM CT4:55 PM ET16:55 ET20:55 GMT4:55 1:55 PM MST3:55 PM EST4:25 PM VEN0:55 UAE (+1)3:55 PM CT-Altuve got two hits in Saturday's 10-1 win over Seattle, giving 218 this season.
Analysis: Altuve tied Rod Carew for most by a second baseman since 1934. Carew reached the feat in 1974 with Minnesota. The Houston Astros second baseman, who leads the majors in hits and with a .344 average, is batting .465 (20 for 43) in his last 10 games.
Sep. 20 11:28 AM PT12:28 PM MT1:28 PM CT2:28 PM ET14:28 ET18:28 GMT2:28 11:28 AM MST1:28 PM EST1:58 PM VEN22:28 UAE1:28 PM CT-Altuve had three hits Friday.
Analysis: Altuve is batting .343 with 216 hits as he continues to pile up the fantasy numbers.
Sep. 16 8:27 AM PT9:27 AM MT10:27 AM CT11:27 AM ET11:27 ET15:27 GMT23:27 8:27 AM MST10:27 AM EST10:57 AM VEN19:27 UAE10:27 AM CT-Altuve went 3 for 4 with two RBIs in Monday's win over Cleveland.
Analysis: Altuve, 11 for his last 21, is one hit away from tying Craig Biggio's franchise single-season record of 210 set in 1998.
Sep. 3 3:28 PM PT4:28 PM MT5:28 PM CT6:28 PM ET18:28 ET22:28 GMT6:28 3:28 PM MST5:28 PM EST5:58 PM VEN2:28 UAE (+1)5:28 PM CT-Altuve went 4 for 5 with a homer in Tuesday's win over the Angels.
Analysis: Altuve is hitting .419 during a 10-game hitting streak.
Aug. 8 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Altuve remained out Saturday.
Analysis: Altuve left Friday night's game against the Texas Rangers with discomfort in his neck. Expect him to be back Sunday in this Lone Star showdown.
Aug. 2 1:44 PM PT2:44 PM MT3:44 PM CT4:44 PM ET16:44 ET20:44 GMT4:44 1:44 PM MST3:44 PM EST4:14 PM VEN0:44 UAE (+1)3:44 PM CT-Altuve hit his 31st double in a 3-1 win over Toronto on Friday.
Analysis: Altuve is already just three doubles shy of the career-high 34 he hit in 2012.
July 31 11:39 AM PT12:39 PM MT1:39 PM CT2:39 PM ET14:39 ET18:39 GMT2:39 11:39 AM MST1:39 PM EST2:09 PM VEN22:39 UAE1:39 PM CT-Altuve extended his hit streak to 12 games in an 8-1 win over Oakland on Wednesday.
Analysis: Altuve, batting an MLB-best .342, is 21 for 53 (.396) during his streak.
July 29 2:15 PM PT3:15 PM MT4:15 PM CT5:15 PM ET17:15 ET21:15 GMT5:15 2:15 PM MST4:15 PM EST4:45 PM VEN1:15 UAE (+1)4:15 PM CT-Altuve extended his hitting streak to 10 games with a single in the third inning Monday.
Analysis: Altuve, who leads the majors with 149 hits, had a season-high hitting streak of 12 games from May 8-21.
July 28 2:51 PM PT3:51 PM MT4:51 PM CT5:51 PM ET17:51 ET21:51 GMT5:51 2:51 PM MST4:51 PM EST5:21 PM VEN1:51 UAE (+1)4:51 PM CT-Altuve was 3 for 4 with his fourth homer in Sunday's 4-2 loss to Miami, extending his hitting streak to nine games.
Analysis: Altuve is batting .395 with 18 stolen bases over his last 34 games and is 18 for 42 (.429) during his hitting streak.
July 27 10:26 AM PT11:26 AM MT12:26 PM CT1:26 PM ET13:26 ET17:26 GMT1:26 10:26 AM MST12:26 PM EST12:56 PM VEN21:26 UAE12:26 PM CT-Altuve added three hits Saturday night.
Analysis: Altuve hiked his big league-best total to 145 - 32 shy of his career best.
July 25 1:10 PM PT2:10 PM MT3:10 PM CT4:10 PM ET16:10 ET20:10 GMT4:10 1:10 PM MST3:10 PM EST3:40 PM VEN0:10 UAE (+1)3:10 PM CT-Altuve went 2 for 4 on Thursday.
Analysis: Altuve leads the majors with 141 hits in a terrific season for fantasy owners.
July 23 10:54 AM PT11:54 AM MT12:54 PM CT1:54 PM ET13:54 ET17:54 GMT1:54 10:54 AM MST12:54 PM EST1:24 PM VEN21:54 UAE12:54 PM CT-Altuve was 3 for 6 in Tuesday's 3-2 win at Oakland.
Analysis: Altuve is 16 for 46 (.348) over his last 10 games.
July 21 2:13 PM PT3:13 PM MT4:13 PM CT5:13 PM ET17:13 ET21:13 GMT5:13 2:13 PM MST4:13 PM EST4:43 PM VEN1:13 UAE (+1)4:13 PM CT-Altuve went 2 for 5 with a two-run homer in Sunday's wild 11-7 road win over the Chicago White Sox.
Analysis: Altuve is slugging .443, significantly higher than his career mark of .391.
July 8 2:53 PM PT3:53 PM MT4:53 PM CT5:53 PM ET17:53 ET21:53 GMT5:53 2:53 PM MST4:53 PM EST5:23 PM VEN1:53 UAE (+1)4:53 PM CT-Altuve had two more hits for Houston on Monday.
Analysis: Altuve is up to 124 hits as he continues to wow the baseball world.
July 4 3:34 PM PT4:34 PM MT5:34 PM CT6:34 PM ET18:34 ET22:34 GMT6:34 3:34 PM MST5:34 PM EST6:04 PM VEN2:34 UAE (+1)5:34 PM CT-Altuve stayed red hot in Thursday's loss to the Angels, going 3 for 5 with his 26th double.
Analysis: Altuve is batting a scorching .470 over his last 16 games.
July 3 2:42 PM PT3:42 PM MT4:42 PM CT5:42 PM ET17:42 ET21:42 GMT5:42 2:42 PM MST4:42 PM EST5:12 PM VEN1:42 UAE (+1)4:42 PM CT-Altuve was 0 for 4 on Wednesday.
Analysis: Altuve leads the majors with 118 hits so this was a shock to fantasy owners.
June 30 2:10 PM PT3:10 PM MT4:10 PM CT5:10 PM ET17:10 ET21:10 GMT5:10 2:10 PM MST4:10 PM EST4:40 PM VEN1:10 UAE (+1)4:10 PM CT-Altuve had three hits and two steals, and the Houston Astros held on for a 6-4 win over the Detroit Tigers on Sunday.
Analysis: Altuve leads the major leagues with 116 hits and has a career high 36 stolen bases. He set a franchise record with a stolen base in six straight games with his swipe of second base in the first inning. Altuve is batting .510 (26 for 51) in his last 12 games.
June 28 2:00 PM PT3:00 PM MT4:00 PM CT5:00 PM ET17:00 ET21:00 GMT5:00 2:00 PM MST4:00 PM EST4:30 PM VEN1:00 UAE (+1)4:00 PM CT-Altuve had four hits and stole two bags in Friday's win over the Tigers.
Analysis: Altuve, a fantasy stud, leads the big leagues with 111 hits.
June 21 3:46 PM PT4:46 PM MT5:46 PM CT6:46 PM ET18:46 ET22:46 GMT6:46 3:46 PM MST5:46 PM EST6:16 PM VEN2:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-Altuve went 3 for 5 with a run scored in Friday's 3-1 win at Tampa Bay.
Analysis: The hits machine is 11 for 18 with two doubles and two RBIs over his last four games.
June 13 9:26 PM PT10:26 PM MT11:26 PM CT12:26 AM ET0:26 ET4:26 GMT12:26 9:26 PM MST11:26 PM EST11:56 PM VEN8:26 UAE11:26 PM CT-Altuve was back in the lineup Tuesday.
Analysis: Altuve was hit on the right hand by a pitch in the seventh inning Thursday. The American League leader in hits and stolen bases appeared to be in a lot of pain as he left the game.
June 10 3:58 PM PT4:58 PM MT5:58 PM CT6:58 PM ET18:58 ET22:58 GMT6:58 3:58 PM MST5:58 PM EST6:28 PM VEN2:58 UAE (+1)5:58 PM CT-Altuve went 3 for 5 in Monday's win in Arizona.
Analysis: He's got an eight-game hitting streak.
May 30 3:55 PM PT4:55 PM MT5:55 PM CT6:55 PM ET18:55 ET22:55 GMT6:55 3:55 PM MST5:55 PM EST6:25 PM VEN2:55 UAE (+1)5:55 PM CT-Altuve went 3 for 4 with a double in Thursday's 3-1 win over Baltimore.
Analysis: Altuve is batting .419 over his last 19 games.
May 26 10:39 AM PT11:39 AM MT12:39 PM CT1:39 PM ET13:39 ET17:39 GMT1:39 10:39 AM MST12:39 PM EST1:09 PM VEN21:39 UAE12:39 PM CT-Altuve collected another two hits in Sunday's win in Seattle.
Analysis: That makes it four straight multihit games and 12 in his last 15 contests. He's batting .448 with 13 runs scored in that time.
May 12 5:03 PM PT6:03 PM MT7:03 PM CT8:03 PM ET20:03 ET0:03 GMT8:03 5:03 PM MST7:03 PM EST7:33 PM VEN4:03 UAE (+1)7:03 PM CT-Altuve went 3 for 4 with a double in a 5-2 win at Baltimore on Sunday.
Analysis: Altuve is 5 for 8 over his last two games.
May 11 10:26 AM PT11:26 AM MT12:26 PM CT1:26 PM ET13:26 ET17:26 GMT1:26 10:26 AM MST12:26 PM EST12:56 PM VEN21:26 UAE12:26 PM CT-Altuve went 2 for 4 with two RBIs and two steals Saturday.
Analysis: Altuve owns a pedestrian .704 OPS.
May 3 2:01 PM PT3:01 PM MT4:01 PM CT5:01 PM ET17:01 ET21:01 GMT5:01 2:01 PM MST4:01 PM EST4:31 PM VEN1:01 UAE (+1)4:01 PM CT-Altuve showcased a complete fantasy effort Friday.
Analysis: Altuve had three hits and his 10th steal. He's a .314 hitter at home.
Apr. 28 8:43 AM PT9:43 AM MT10:43 AM CT11:43 AM ET11:43 ET15:43 GMT23:43 8:43 AM MST10:43 AM EST11:13 AM VEN19:43 UAE10:43 AM CT-Altuve went 2 for 4 with a two-run homer in Sunday's win over Oakland.
Analysis: Altuve has been tremendous over the last four games, going 9 for 18 with three extra-base hits.
Apr. 13 9:33 AM PT10:33 AM MT11:33 AM CT12:33 PM ET12:33 ET16:33 GMT0:33 9:33 AM MST11:33 AM EST12:03 PM VEN20:33 UAE11:33 AM CT-Altuve went 2 for 4 as Houston beat the Texas Rangers 6-5 in 10 innings Saturday night.
Analysis: Altuve is hitting .500 against lefties and .212 against righties so keep that in mind to maximize his fantasy potential.
Apr. 2 1:01 PM PT2:01 PM MT3:01 PM CT4:01 PM ET16:01 ET20:01 GMT4:01 1:01 PM MST3:01 PM EST3:31 PM VEN0:01 UAE (+1)3:01 PM CT-Altuve went 2 for 4 in his fantasy opener Tuesday.
Analysis: Altuve had 177 hits a year ago and looks like he is seeing the ball well again.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 Hou 57 221 26 61 10 1 2 12 5 29 7 3 .276 .297 .357
2012 Hou 147 576 80 167 34 4 7 37 40 74 33 11 .290 .340 .399
2013 Hou 152 626 64 177 31 2 5 52 32 85 35 13 .283 .316 .363
2014 Hou 158 660 85 225 47 3 7 59 36 53 56 9 .341 .377 .453
Career 514 2083 255 630 122 10 21 160 113 241 131 36 .302 .340 .401

Postseason


? © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.

Audio On Demand

Patriots Coach Bill Belic…

Patriots Coach Bill Belichick with Dale and Holley

We sit down with Bill Belichick on a Patriots Monday and get his take on a nail-biting win over the Jets, as well as his feelings on Peyton Manning breaking the NFL record for touchdowns.

Vince Wilfork with Dale and Holley

We check in with Big Vince on a Patriots Monday. Vince sounds like he's fighting a cold but swears he'll be good to go come Sunday. Vince tells Dale and Holley that their defense will have to be better if they expect to keep winning, especially against the ground game.

Tedy Bruschi with Dale and Holley

Full Tilt, Full Time #54 Tedy Bruschi talks to Dale and Holley about a record breaking night for Peyton Manning, and a tough win for the Patriots this past Thursday.

We Hate Dwyane Wade - Kir…

We Hate Dwyane Wade - Kirk Minihane Previews the Celtics

Kirk Minihane joins the We Hate Dwyane Wade Show to preview the upcoming Celtics season. Ben and Sam also discuss the Rajon Rondo/Jeff Green trade rumors and dabble in the classic NBA analytics debate.

NWOA Injury Report - Rajon Rondo

Dr Nick Leung for the Newton Wellesley Orthopedics Association joins Ben to talk about Rajon Rondo's broken hand.

We Hate Dwyane Wade - 10-1-14

The debut edition of the We Hate Dwyane Wade show. Ben and Sam preview the Celtics and talk about other summer news around the NBA.

Joe Castiglione wraps up …

Joe Castiglione wraps up the 2014 Red Sox Season with a Poem

Joe Castiglione does his annual wrap-up of the season by reading the poem by Bart Giamatti.

Mut and Bradford on the disappointing season for Jackie Bradley, Jr and Xander Bogaerts 9-28-14

Mut and Rob discuss the "kids" and the variety of young bodies the Red Sox called upon this season. Specifically, they look at Bogaerts and Bradley, Jr. and where things went wrong. They give their opinions on which one will right the ship next season.

Minor Details Ep. 101: Red Sox director of player development Ben Crockett on the state of the Red Sox system

Description: Red Sox farm director Ben Crockett looks back at the 2014 Red Sox prospect season by answering listener questions about a number of Red Sox prospects as well as broader issues and themes in the farm system.

Tony Marinaro from TSN 69…

Tony Marinaro from TSN 690 in Montreal yells about Bruins-Habs 10-17-14

The world's biggest Canadiens fan Tony Marinaro joins MFB after the Bruins and Tuukka Rask suffered another loss in Montreal.

Jack Edwards with Dale and Holley

We check in with NESN's Jack Edwards for a Bruins-Canadiens preview, live from French-Quebec.

Pierre McGuire, NBC: Bruins have had horrible early schedule. 10-16-14

Pierre McGuire joins MFB to analyze last night's Bruins-Red Wings game and preview tonight's game against the Canadiens. Pierre also offers his take on fighting in the NHL.

Tom Brady on Peyton Manni…

Tom Brady on Peyton Manning's touchdown record 10-20-14

Tom Brady discussed Peyton's record breaking night.

Tim Hasselbeck on Manning vs. Brady 10-20-14

Tim Hasselbeck on Peyton vs. Brady.

Peyton Manning breaks Favre's touchdown record 10-20-14

The guys opened the show discussing Peyton Manning's record setting night in Denver.

Christian's Top 5 Coaches…

Christian's Top 5 Coaches in the NFL, 10-20-14

Christian talks about his Top 5 coaches in the NFL.

Three For All - Christian has poisoned himself

Christian learns a thing or two about lead poisoning. San Francisco hates Lorde until the World Series is over. Floyd Mayweather sued for false imprisonment.

Chris "Dwight Stone" Jones, talks about blocking the late FG Thursday night, 10-20-14

Patriots DT Chris Jones wasn't even sure he was the one who blocked NIck Folk's FG attempt to seal the win against the Jets. He also talked about how well LB Dont'a Hightower has done in place of Jerod Mayo.

Tedy Bruschi: I recognize…

Tedy Bruschi: I recognize the greatest of Manning, but I'm still going with Tom

Full Tilt, Full Time #54 Tedy Bruschi talks to Dale and Holley about a record breaking night for Peyton Manning, and a tough win for the Patriots this past Thursday.

Bill Belichick (wryly): It's comforting to know Manning has thrown more TD's against us than anyone

We sit down with Bill Belichick on a Patriots Monday and get his take on a nail-biting win over the Jets, as well as his feelings on Peyton Manning breaking the NFL record for touchdowns.

Vince Wilfork: We just couldn't get off the field on third down

We check in with Big Vince on a Patriots Monday. Vince sounds like he's fighting a cold but swears he'll be good to go come Sunday. Vince tells Dale and Holley that their defense will have to be better if they expect to keep winning, especially against the ground game.

10 Years since the Red So…

10 Years since the Red Sox began their comeback and eventual World Series Championship

Mikey, Villani and Lenny are talking about the 2004 Red Sox on the anniversary of Game 4 of the ALCS with Dave Roberts steal abd Bill Mueller driving him in and what it was like to witness.

The Patriots record during the regular season and Super Bowl

Mikey, Mut and Lenny are talking about the Patriots and how they have stacked up through the years and what got them to the three championships and five Super Bowl appearances in the Brady-Belichick era.

Bill Belichick and the Patriots Draft History

Mikey and Mut take a call from someone who wants to criticize Belichick the GM and his history of drafting players and making moves in the draft.

The Fantasy Football Hour…

The Fantasy Football Hour with Jim Hackett and Pete Davidson - Week 7, 10-19-14

This week Pete gives the listeners a brief, but enthusiastic history lesson the ineptitude of the New York Jets. They also help you set your final rosters for your Week 7 fantasy teams.

SoccerCast - Revs March to the Playoffs

Predictions for the Revs moving into the playoffs, Jurgen Klinsmann vs Don Garber, and Ben needs a new European team to root for.

We Hate Dwyane Wade - Kirk Minihane Previews the Celtics

Kirk Minihane joins the We Hate Dwyane Wade Show to preview the upcoming Celtics season. Ben and Sam also discuss the Rajon Rondo/Jeff Green trade rumors and dabble in the classic NBA analytics debate.

Tom Brady on Peyton Manni…

Tom Brady on Peyton Manning's touchdown record 10-20-14

Tom Brady discussed Peyton's record breaking night.

More from this show

Tim Hasselbeck on Manning…

Rodney Harrison on the Pa…

Rodney Harrison on the Patriots win over the Jets 10-17-14

Rodney Harrison on the Pats close win over the Jets.

More from this show

Peyton Manning breaks Fav…

Peyton Manning breaks Favre's touchdown record 10-20-14

The guys opened the show discussing Peyton Manning's record setting night in Denver.

More from this show

Patriots hold off Jets to…

Patriots hold off Jets to move to 5-2: Response and Reaction

Dale, Michael and Barstoolsports Jerry Thornton break down the Pats close win over the Jets on Thursday Night Football.

More from this show

Weei Writers