Sports and Scores
 
MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#22
Jason Kipnis
AVG HR RBI
.226 4 16
Team: ClevelandHt / Wt: 5-11 / 195 NFBC ADP: 132.71
Position: 2BBorn: 4/3/1987 Birthplace: Northbrook, Illinois
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 2nd Round by Indians (2009)


Latest News
May 22 7:06 PM PT8:06 PM MT9:06 PM CT10:06 PM ET22:06 ET2:06 GMT10:06 7:06 PM MST9:06 PM EST9:36 PM VEN6:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-Jason Kipnis went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Monday as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-1. The homer was his fourth of the season. He ended the game with a .226 batting average.
Analysis: Kipnis is 13 for 35 (.371) with four homers, two doubles and 10 RBIs over an eight-game hitting streak.
May 21 4:16 PM PT5:16 PM MT6:16 PM CT7:16 PM ET19:16 ET23:16 GMT7:16 4:16 PM MST6:16 PM EST6:46 PM VEN3:16 UAE (+1)6:16 PM CT-Jason Kipnis went 2 for 5 with an RBI Sunday as the Cleveland Indians topped the Houston Astros 8-6. Kipnis scored once. He ended the game with a .225 batting average.
Analysis: Batting .387 (12 for 31) with three homers and nine RBIs over a seven-game hitting streak, Kipnis has clearly put his early-season struggles behind. He stands a reasonable chance of remaining hot in Monday's matchup at Cincinnati, as he's 4 for 11 lifetime off Reds starter Scott Feldman.
May 20 4:44 PM PT5:44 PM MT6:44 PM CT7:44 PM ET19:44 ET23:44 GMT7:44 4:44 PM MST6:44 PM EST7:14 PM VEN3:44 UAE (+1)6:44 PM CT-Jason Kipnis went 1 for 4 with an RBI Saturday as the Cleveland Indians beat the Houston Astros 3-0. He ended the game with a .216 batting average.
Analysis: Kipnis is 10 for 26 with three home runs and eight RBIs during a six-game hitting streak.
May 20 9:17 PM PT10:17 PM MT11:17 PM CT12:17 AM ET0:17 ET4:17 GMT12:17 9:17 PM MST11:17 PM EST11:47 PM VEN8:17 UAE11:17 PM CT-Jason Kipnis went 2 for 5 with a home run and an RBI Friday as the Cleveland Indians beat the Houston Astros 5-3. The homer was his third of the season. He ended the game with a .215 batting average.
Analysis: Kipnis is 9 for 22 with three home runs and seven RBIs during a five-game hit streak.
May 17 2:18 PM PT3:18 PM MT4:18 PM CT5:18 PM ET17:18 ET21:18 GMT5:18 2:18 PM MST4:18 PM EST4:48 PM VEN1:18 UAE (+1)4:18 PM CT-Jason Kipnis went 1 for 5 with an RBI Wednesday as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 7-4. He ended the game with a .205 batting average.
May 16 6:31 PM PT7:31 PM MT8:31 PM CT9:31 PM ET21:31 ET1:31 GMT9:31 6:31 PM MST8:31 PM EST9:01 PM VEN5:31 UAE (+1)8:31 PM CT-Jason Kipnis went 1 for 4 with a double and an RBI Tuesday as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 6-4. He ended the game with a .205 batting average.
Analysis: Kipnis is 6 for 12 with two homers, two doubles and five RBIs in his last three games.
May 15 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)9:00 PM CT-Jason Kipnis went 1 for 3 with a double Monday as the Cleveland Indians beat the Tampa Bay Rays 8-7. Kipnis added a stolen base. He ended the game with a .203 batting average.
May 14 2:25 PM PT3:25 PM MT4:25 PM CT5:25 PM ET17:25 ET21:25 GMT5:25 2:25 PM MST4:25 PM EST4:55 PM VEN1:25 UAE (+1)4:25 PM CT-Jason Kipnis went 4 for 5 with two home runs and four RBIs Sunday as the Cleveland Indians topped the Minnesota Twins 8-3. The homers were his first and second of the season. He ended the game with a .197 batting average.
Analysis: Kipnis came in hitting just .155 and had been perhaps the most disappointing regular in the major leagues. Hopefully this will get him going.
May 13 4:14 PM PT5:14 PM MT6:14 PM CT7:14 PM ET19:14 ET23:14 GMT7:14 4:14 PM MST6:14 PM EST6:44 PM VEN3:14 UAE (+1)6:14 PM CT-Jason Kipnis went 0 for 4 Saturday as the Cleveland Indians fell to the Minnesota Twins 4-1. He ended the game with a .155 batting average.
Analysis: Kipnis is just 2 for 26 over his last six games.
May 12 6:52 PM PT7:52 PM MT8:52 PM CT9:52 PM ET21:52 ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST8:52 PM EST9:22 PM VEN5:52 UAE (+1)8:52 PM CT-Jason Kipnis went 0 for 4 Friday as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Minnesota Twins 1-0. He ended the game with a .164 batting average.
Analysis: Kipnis is 2 for 22 in his last five games.
May 10 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-Jason Kipnis went 2 for 5 with a double and three RBIs Wednesday as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 8-7. Kipnis scored once. He ended the game with a .175 batting average.
Analysis: The standout second baseman, who had been 0 for 13 over his last three games, is still trying to get it all together after missing the early part of the season with a shoulder injury. Kipnis does have three multi-hit efforts in his last six contests, so he may be turning it around.
May 9 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Jason Kipnis went 0 for 5 Tuesday as the Cleveland Indians beat the Toronto Blue Jays 6-0. He ended the game with a .155 batting average.
Analysis: Kipnis is 0 for 13 over his last three games.
May 8 7:17 PM PT8:17 PM MT9:17 PM CT10:17 PM ET22:17 ET2:17 GMT10:17 7:17 PM MST9:17 PM EST9:47 PM VEN6:17 UAE (+1)9:17 PM CT-Jason Kipnis went 0 for 4 Monday as the Cleveland Indians fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 4-2. He ended the game with a .170 batting average.
May 7 4:34 PM PT5:34 PM MT6:34 PM CT7:34 PM ET19:34 ET23:34 GMT7:34 4:34 PM MST6:34 PM EST7:04 PM VEN3:34 UAE (+1)6:34 PM CT-Jason Kipnis went 0 for 4 Sunday as the Cleveland Indians topped the Kansas City Royals 1-0. He ended the game with a .184 batting average.
May 6 5:07 PM PT6:07 PM MT7:07 PM CT8:07 PM ET20:07 ET0:07 GMT8:07 5:07 PM MST7:07 PM EST7:37 PM VEN4:07 UAE (+1)7:07 PM CT-Jason Kipnis went 2 for 4 with an RBI Saturday as the Cleveland Indians beat the Kansas City Royals 3-1. He ended the game with a .200 batting average.
Analysis: Kipnis is 4 for 7 with a double in the first two games of this series.
May 6 9:05 PM PT10:05 PM MT11:05 PM CT12:05 AM ET0:05 ET4:05 GMT12:05 9:05 PM MST11:05 PM EST11:35 PM VEN8:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-Jason Kipnis went 2 for 3 with a double Friday as the Cleveland Indians fell to the Kansas City Royals 3-1. He ended the game with a .171 batting average.
Analysis: Kipnis entered the contest hitting just .132, so hopefully this will get him going in the right direction. We still think Kipnis is going to put up nice numbers this season.
May 4 9:42 PM PT10:42 PM MT11:42 PM CT12:42 AM ET0:42 ET4:42 GMT12:42 9:42 PM MST11:42 PM EST12:12 AM VEN8:42 UAE11:42 PM CT-Jason Kipnis went 0 for 3 with an RBI Wednesday as the Cleveland Indians topped the Detroit Tigers 3-2. He ended the game with a .132 batting average.
May 2 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-Jason Kipnis went 0 for 4 Tuesday as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Detroit Tigers 5-2. He ended the game with a .143 batting average.
Analysis: Kipnis is still searching for his first extra-base hit of the season. He's 5 for 35 with 13 strikeouts in 10 games.
May 1 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)10:09 PM CT-Kipnis, who missed the first three weeks with a shoulder injury, was given the day off Monday.
Analysis: Kipnis is hitting just .191 in nine games since coming off the disabled list but manager Terry Francona feels "he's like one good swing away" from getting back on track.
Apr. 30 1:42 PM PT2:42 PM MT3:42 PM CT4:42 PM ET16:42 ET20:42 GMT4:42 1:42 PM MST3:42 PM EST4:12 PM VEN0:42 UAE (+1)3:42 PM CT-Jason Kipnis went 1 for 4 with an RBI Sunday as the Cleveland Indians topped the Seattle Mariners 12-4. Kipnis scored twice and stole a base. He ended the game with a .161 batting average.
Apr. 29 4:50 PM PT5:50 PM MT6:50 PM CT7:50 PM ET19:50 ET23:50 GMT7:50 4:50 PM MST6:50 PM EST7:20 PM VEN3:50 UAE (+1)6:50 PM CT-Jason Kipnis went 0 for 4 Saturday as the Cleveland Indians topped the Seattle Mariners 4-3. He ended the game with a .148 batting average.
Apr. 29 9:13 PM PT10:13 PM MT11:13 PM CT12:13 AM ET0:13 ET4:13 GMT12:13 9:13 PM MST11:13 PM EST11:43 PM VEN8:13 UAE11:13 PM CT-Jason Kipnis went 0 for 4 Friday as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Seattle Mariners 3-1. He ended the game with a .174 batting average.
Apr. 27 8:02 PM PT9:02 PM MT10:02 PM CT11:02 PM ET23:02 ET3:02 GMT11:02 8:02 PM MST10:02 PM EST10:32 PM VEN7:02 UAE (+1)10:02 PM CT-Jason Kipnis went 1 for 4 Thursday as the Cleveland Indians topped the Houston Astros 4-3. He ended the game with a .211 batting average.
Apr. 26 7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)9:10 PM CT-Kipnis singled twice and scored Wednesday against Houston.
Analysis: Kipnis went 1 for 11 in his first four games of the season after coming off the DL last Friday.
Apr. 22 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Kipnis, who played in his second game of the season after coming off the disabled list on Friday, will likely get a day off Sunday, Indians manager Terry Francona said. Kipnis had a right shoulder strain.
Analysis: Kipnis, who is 1 for 7 in his first two games, should be back in the lineup Tuesday against Houston.
Mar. 12 12:28 PM PT1:28 PM MT2:28 PM CT3:28 PM ET15:28 ET19:28 GMT3:28 12:28 PM MST2:28 PM EST2:58 PM VEN23:28 UAE1:28 PM CT-Kipnis (sore right shoulder) was taken off the 10-day DL on Friday before Cleveland visited the White Sox. He went 0 for 3 with a walk.
Analysis: Last season, Kipnis hit .275 with 23 homers, 82 RBI and 15 stolen bases while playing in 156 games.
Feb. 26 8:44 AM PT9:44 AM MT10:44 AM CT11:44 AM ET11:44 ET16:44 GMT0:44 9:44 AM MST11:44 AM EST12:14 PM VEN20:44 UAE10:44 AM CT-Kipnis has a strained rotator cuff and will stop throwing for a couple days.
Analysis: Kipnis got a cortisone shot on Saturday, and manager Terry Francona says he should be ''raring to go'' when he resumes throwing. The 29-year-old Kipnis hit .275 with 23 homers and 82 RBIs last season, helping Cleveland to the AL Central title. He added four more homers and eight RBIs in the playoffs as the Indians made it all the way to the World Series before losing to the Chicago Cubs in seven games.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 Cle 36 136 24 37 9 1 7 19 11 34 5 0 .272 .333 .507
2012 Cle 152 591 86 152 22 4 14 76 67 109 31 7 .257 .335 .379
2013 Cle 149 564 86 160 36 4 17 84 76 143 30 7 .284 .366 .452
2014 Cle 129 500 61 120 25 1 6 41 50 100 22 3 .240 .310 .330
2015 Cle 141 565 86 171 43 7 9 52 57 107 12 8 .303 .372 .451
2016 Cle 156 610 91 168 41 4 23 82 60 146 15 3 .275 .343 .469
2017 Cle 27 106 10 24 4 0 4 16 4 23 2 0 .226 .252 .377
Career 790 3072 444 832 180 21 80 370 325 662 117 28 .271 .342 .421

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Cle Total 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WC 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Cle Total 15 61 9 14 3 0 4 8 2 16 0 0 .230 .266 .475
    LDS 3 11 1 4 0 0 1 3 1 4 0 0 .364 .417 .636
    LCS 5 19 2 1 0 0 1 1 1 3 0 0 .053 .100 .211
    WS 7 31 6 9 3 0 2 4 0 9 0 0 .290 .313 .581
Career 16 65 9 14 3 0 4 8 2 16 0 0 .215 .250 .446


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Audio On Demand

MMQB's Peter King with Da…

MMQB's Peter King with Dale, Holley and Keefe

We had an impromptu visit from Peter King from SI / MMQB to our Fenway Studios and decided to talk some NFL and Patriots with him.

Phil Perry, CSNNE on the Patriots and NFL free agency

Pete talks with The Senator, Phil Perry about the Patriots trading for Dwayne Allen, ruling out a return to New England for Martellus Bennett. They also talk about the potential future of Patriots backup QB Jimmy Garoppolo and some of the big names in NFL free agency

NFL SUNDAY...the final segment of the year -- 2-5-17

Pete, Thornton and Price give their final thoughts and predictions for the Super Bowl.

LaVar Ball with Dale, Hol…

LaVar Ball with Dale, Holley and Keefe

Dale, Holley and Rich Keefe discuss NBA lottery pick Lonzo Ball with his very outspoken father Lavar Ball. The guys touch on the Celtics, his feud with his sons' high school coach, Lonzo being better than Steph Curry and much more.

Kirk and Callahan- Will Isaiah Thomas win a title in Boston? 3-7-17

Kirk, Gerry, and Alex Reimer discuss whether or not Isaiah Thomas will win a title in Boston.

Kirk and Callahan- Celtics lose after Thomas mishandles the ball 3-6-17

Gerry, Kirk, and Trenni react to the Celtics loss against the Suns.

David Ortiz with Dale, Ho…

David Ortiz with Dale, Holley and Keefe

We speak with David Ortiz, co-author of the new biography Papi: My Story with our own Michael S. Holley.

Bradfo Sho, Ep. 31: The definitive Rafael Devers podcast

Red Sox assistant general manager Eddie Romero, the man who had a huge hand in signing top prospect Rafael Devers, joins Rob Bradford to talk all things Devers. Romero explains how the organization locked up the talented third baseman, detailing how he has progressed to this point and how long it might be until the 20 year old becomes a major leaguer.

Bradfo Sho, Ep. 30: Michael Holley talks David Ortiz book

Michael Holley, author of the new book, "Papi: My Story" joins Rob Bradford to talk anything and everything about the soon-to-be released David Ortiz autobiography. Holley discusses the twists and turns leading up to actually writing the book, the stories behind putting it all together and the stories behind the stories.

Bruce Cassidy with Dale, …

Bruce Cassidy with Dale, Holley and Keefe

Dale, Holley and Keefe interview the newest coach of the Boston Bruins for the first time, Bruce Cassidy.

The 1972 Bruins

Highlights

Saturday Skate - Bruins and the All-Star break

Guys talk the Bruins season so far and the All-Star Break

K&C - Ken Rosenthal has a…

K&C - Ken Rosenthal has an awful Farrell take; Monica Lewinsky blames Roger Ailes 5-23-17

Hour 4: Ken Rosenthal thinks Farrell might be fired...

K&C - Terrorist identified as Salman Abedi; Tension with Ken & Curtis 5-23-17

Hour 3: The terrorist is identified and Kirk discusses the brewing tension with Ken and Curtis.

K&C - Will the Celtics trade Isaiah Thomas? Reimer wants a one child limit 5-23-17

Hour 2: The guys discussed the future of Isaiah Thomas.

OMF - Pete Abraham,the mo…

OMF - Pete Abraham,the most interesting man in media. 5-22-17

Hour 4: MMQB had full day breakdown of Boston Globe's Peter Abraham and the guys have a field day with it.

OMF - LeBron has security ejects a fan. 5-22-17

Hour 3: LeBron's media buddy Brian Windhorst has LBJ's back after exchange with fan. The guys question if it was Windhosrt or LeBron that asked the fan "what have you ever done?" Callers wonder the future of I.T. on the Celtics. Glenn thinks this Red Sox team is boring.

OMF - What is Isaiah Thomas' future with the Celtics? 5-22-17

Hour 2: Marcus Smart's new hot hand in Game 3 made him star last night, will that carry through the rest of the season? Skip Bayless believes the Celtics are better without I.T. and gives his reasons why, the guys give their thoughts.

Dale, Holley, and Keefe's…

Dale, Holley, and Keefe's Final Drive, 5-22-2017

We close out the show with the best sound clips of the day.

Raymond Clayborn is the newest Patriots' HOFer, 5-22-17

Michael and Keefe react to the breaking news that the newest member of the Patriots Hall of Fame is cornerback Raymond Clayborn. The two are skeptical that he was the right pick over fellow candidates Richard Seymour and Mike Vrabel.

Odd questions out of the NBA combine, 5-22-17

In a segment eerily similar to an old favorite, Producer Ben asks Michael and Keefe some of the more bizarre questions asked of potential NBA prospects during the scouting combine.

Ep. 58: Mike Finkel, Auth…

Ep. 58: Mike Finkel, Author of True Story and The Stanger in the Woods

Kirk Minihane talks to the author of the best selling book "The Stranger in the Woods" Mike Finkel. It is a crazy story of a hermit leaving in Maine. Mike is also the author of "True Story" which was made into a movie staring Jonah Hill and James Franco. Mike talks about how the movie came out, his thoughts on Jonah Hill portraying him, and if it was true to the book.

Ep. 57: Garry W. Tallent, founding member of the E Street Band

Kirk Minihane, Springsteen super fan, is joined by Garry W. Tallent, founding member of the E Street Band. Kirk and Garry talk about what it's like on tour with Bruce, how the band goes about selecting songs for the tour, Garry's projects away from the band, and Garry's upcoming solo tour that will bring him to the New England area.

Ep. 56: Howie Carr

Kirk Minihane, future radio hall of famer, sits down with current radio hall of famer Howie Carr. Kirk and Howie talk about Howie's latest book Kennedy Babylon. If you like famous people engaging in sex scandals, hard drug taking, and murder this is the podcast for you. Its a fascinating look at Boston's most famous family and the problems that took the family down.

Two Outs with Buck and Re…

Two Outs with Buck and Reimer Ep 4: Billy Bean talks Kevin Pillar slur

Alex Reimer and Steve Buckley chat with MLB Ambassador of Inclusion Billy Bean about the Kevin Pillar incident and casual homophobia in sports. Bean explains how difficult it is to stamp out anti-gay language, given how prevalent it is in our vernacular.

Interview with Jim Lampley of HBO Boxing – Preview of Crawford vs. Diaz:

Join us for our one on one conversation with the great Jim Lampley of HBO Sports. Jim Lampley offers his insights into this Saturday’s title fight for the World Jr. Welterweight Championship, with Undefeated Champion Terrence Crawford defending against Southpaw Gold Medalist, Felix Diaz. The conversation details Saturday Nights HBO Championship fight but also chronicles the recent highlights of the sport and the bright future of great potential matchups to come.

Across The Board - Preakness 2017 Preview with Mut

Mut breaks down the 142nd running of the Preakness Stakes with Matt Bernier of the Daily Racing Form, Simon Bray of TVG and Dick Jerardi courtesy of Xpressbet.com

K&C - Tony Reali is going…

K&C - Tony Reali is going through postpartum anxiety; Boston Magazine profiles Linda Pizzuti 5-22-17

Hour 4: Around the Horn's Tony Reali is struggling with postpartum anxiety and depression. Linda Pizzuti is profiled in Boston Magazine.

More from this show

K&C - Celtics pull off im…

K&C - Celtics pull off improbable Game 3 victory in Cleveland; Mut nailed the Preakness 5-22-17

Hour 1: Gerry is back in with Kirk and Mut recapping the Celtics' near impossible Game 3 victory in Cleveland. Mut picked the Preakness winner.

More from this show

K&C - Without Isaiah Thom…

K&C - Without Isaiah Thomas, the Celtics pull off all-time upset in Cleveland 5-22-17

Hour 3: The guys continue talking Celtics after they beat the Cavs in Cleveland without Isaiah Thomas in Game 3 of the Eastern Conference Finals.

More from this show

K&C - Peter King chronicl…

K&C - Peter King chronicles Pete Abe's travel log in the MMQB 5-22-17

Hour 2: Peter King of the MMQB chronicles Pete Abraham's travel log in an unusual addition to the MMQB.

More from this show

K&C - Gerry reflects on t…

K&C - Gerry reflects on the recent passing and life of his mother 5-22-17

Gerry discusses the recent passing of his mother, Irene Callahan.

More from this show

News & Analysis