MLB Baseball

#61
John Axford
ERA S K
6.43 0 21
Team: OaklandHt / Wt: 6-5 / 220 NFBC ADP: 678.40
Position: RPBorn: 4/1/1983 Birthplace: Simcoe, Canada
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Yankees (2006)


Latest News
July 24 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-John Axford allowed one run on one hit and two walks without recording an out as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 4-2 on Monday. Axford did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.43 ERA and 2.10 WHIP on the season.
July 21 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-John Axford allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Oakland Athletics lost to the New York Mets 7-5 on Friday. Axford struck out one, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.95 WHIP on the season.
July 9 5:35 PM PT6:35 PM MT7:35 PM CT8:35 PM ET20:35 ET0:35 GMT8:35 5:35 PM MST7:35 PM EST8:05 PM VEN4:35 UAE (+1)7:35 PM CT-John Axford allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 0.1 innings as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Seattle Mariners 4-0 on Sunday. Axford did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.30 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
July 4 9:46 AM PT10:46 AM MT11:46 AM CT12:46 PM ET12:46 ET16:46 GMT0:46 9:46 AM MST11:46 AM EST12:16 PM VEN20:46 UAE11:46 AM CT-John Axford allowed one run on zero hits and four walks in 1.0 inning as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Chicago White Sox 7-2 on Monday. Axford struck out two, ending the game with a 5.95 ERA and 1.88 WHIP on the season.
July 3 9:21 AM PT10:21 AM MT11:21 AM CT12:21 PM ET12:21 ET16:21 GMT0:21 9:21 AM MST11:21 AM EST11:51 AM VEN20:21 UAE11:21 AM CT-John Axford fell to 0-1, allowing one run on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Atlanta Braves 4-3 on Sunday. Axford struck out one, ending the game with a 5.79 ERA and 1.77 WHIP on the season.
June 29 9:30 PM PT10:30 PM MT11:30 PM CT12:30 AM ET0:30 ET4:30 GMT12:30 9:30 PM MST11:30 PM EST12:00 AM VEN8:30 UAE11:30 PM CT-John Axford allowed one run on two hits and two walks in 1.2 innings as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Houston Astros 11-8 on Wednesday. Axford struck out one, ending the game with a 5.60 ERA and 1.81 WHIP on the season.
June 24 2:57 PM PT3:57 PM MT4:57 PM CT5:57 PM ET17:57 ET21:57 GMT5:57 2:57 PM MST4:57 PM EST5:27 PM VEN1:57 UAE (+1)4:57 PM CT-John Axford did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Chicago White Sox 10-2 on Saturday. Axford struck out one, ending the game with a 5.63 ERA and 1.75 WHIP on the season.
June 22 5:56 PM PT6:56 PM MT7:56 PM CT8:56 PM ET20:56 ET0:56 GMT8:56 5:56 PM MST7:56 PM EST8:26 PM VEN4:56 UAE (+1)7:56 PM CT-John Axford allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Houston Astros 12-9 on Thursday. Axford struck out one, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.87 WHIP on the season.
June 20 8:06 AM PT9:06 AM MT10:06 AM CT11:06 AM ET11:06 ET15:06 GMT23:06 8:06 AM MST10:06 AM EST10:36 AM VEN19:06 UAE10:06 AM CT-John Axford allowed one run on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Houston Astros 4-1 on Monday. Axford did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.92 ERA and 1.92 WHIP on the season.
June 16 11:47 AM PT12:47 PM MT1:47 PM CT2:47 PM ET14:47 ET18:47 GMT2:47 11:47 AM MST1:47 PM EST2:17 PM VEN22:47 UAE1:47 PM CT-John Axford blew his first save, allowing one run on two hits in 0.1 innings, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the New York Yankees 8-7 on Thursday. Axford struck out one, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.92 WHIP on the season.
June 14 1:11 PM PT2:11 PM MT3:11 PM CT4:11 PM ET16:11 ET20:11 GMT4:11 1:11 PM MST3:11 PM EST3:41 PM VEN0:11 UAE (+1)3:11 PM CT-John Axford allowed two runs on two hits and one walk in 1.2 innings as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Miami Marlins 11-6 on Wednesday. Axford struck out one, ending the game with a 6.17 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.
June 11 2:47 PM PT3:47 PM MT4:47 PM CT5:47 PM ET17:47 ET21:47 GMT5:47 2:47 PM MST4:47 PM EST5:17 PM VEN1:47 UAE (+1)4:47 PM CT-John Axford allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-4 on Sunday. Axford struck out two, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.
June 10 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-John Axford walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 6-5 on Saturday. Axford struck out one, ending the game with a 6.48 ERA and 2.04 WHIP on the season.
June 7 4:55 PM PT5:55 PM MT6:55 PM CT7:55 PM ET19:55 ET23:55 GMT7:55 4:55 PM MST6:55 PM EST7:25 PM VEN3:55 UAE (+1)6:55 PM CT-John Axford walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 7-5 on Wednesday. Axford struck out two, ending the game with a 7.04 ERA and 2.09 WHIP on the season.
June 6 8:59 AM PT9:59 AM MT10:59 AM CT11:59 AM ET11:59 ET15:59 GMT23:59 8:59 AM MST10:59 AM EST11:29 AM VEN19:59 UAE10:59 AM CT-John Axford allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 5-3 on Monday. Axford struck out one, ending the game with an 8.10 ERA and 2.25 WHIP on the season.
June 4 8:54 AM PT9:54 AM MT10:54 AM CT11:54 AM ET11:54 ET15:54 GMT23:54 8:54 AM MST10:54 AM EST11:24 AM VEN19:54 UAE10:54 AM CT-John Axford walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Washington Nationals 10-4 on Saturday. Axford struck out one, ending the game with a 9.53 ERA and 2.47 WHIP on the season.
June 1 12:33 PM PT1:33 PM MT2:33 PM CT3:33 PM ET15:33 ET19:33 GMT3:33 12:33 PM MST2:33 PM EST3:03 PM VEN23:33 UAE2:33 PM CT-John Axford allowed three runs - two earned - on three hits and one walk in 0.1 innings as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Cleveland Indians 8-0 on Thursday. Axford did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 11.57 ERA and 2.79 WHIP on the season.
May 28 3:02 PM PT4:02 PM MT5:02 PM CT6:02 PM ET18:02 ET22:02 GMT6:02 3:02 PM MST5:02 PM EST5:32 PM VEN2:02 UAE (+1)5:02 PM CT-John Axford allowed two runs on two hits and two walks in 1.0 inning as the Oakland Athletics lost to the New York Yankees 9-5 on Sunday. Axford struck out one, ending the game with an 8.31 ERA and 2.08 WHIP on the season.
May 24 11:03 AM PT12:03 PM MT1:03 PM CT2:03 PM ET14:03 ET18:03 GMT2:03 11:03 AM MST1:03 PM EST1:33 PM VEN22:03 UAE1:03 PM CT-John Axford allowed one run on four hits in 1.1 innings as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Miami Marlins 11-9 on Tuesday. Axford struck out one, ending the game with a 7.71 ERA and 2.14 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 5 3:26 PM PT4:26 PM MT5:26 PM CT6:26 PM ET18:26 ET22:26 GMT6:26 3:26 PM MST5:26 PM EST5:56 PM VEN2:26 UAE (+1)5:26 PM CT-Axford has been activated from the 10-day disabled list.
Analysis: The veteran reliever made his belated season debut Sunday against the Red Sox after missing time with a strained right shoulder. With Ryan Dull now sidelined, Axford could get a chance to make some high-leverage appearances out of the bullpen.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2009 Mil 0 0 1 - 1 7 0 0 7.2 5 3 3 0 6 1 9 1.43 3.52
2010 Mil 8 2 24 - 27 50 0 0 58.0 42 17 16 1 27 3 76 1.19 2.48
2011 Mil 2 2 46 - 48 74 0 0 73.2 59 19 16 4 25 1 86 1.14 1.95
2012 Mil 5 8 35 - 44 75 0 0 69.1 61 42 36 10 39 2 93 1.44 4.67
2013 Mil 6 7 0 - 6 62 0 0 54.2 62 29 27 10 23 3 54 1.55 4.45
2013 StL 1 0 0 - 1 13 0 0 10.1 11 3 2 0 3 0 11 1.35 1.74
2013 Tot 7 7 0 - 7 75 0 0 65.0 73 32 29 10 26 3 65 1.52 4.02
2014 Cle 2 3 10 - 13 49 0 0 43.2 34 21 19 6 30 3 51 1.47 3.92
2014 Pit 0 1 0 - 0 13 0 0 11.0 9 5 5 0 6 0 12 1.36 4.09
2014 Tot 2 4 10 - 13 62 0 0 54.2 43 26 24 6 36 3 63 1.45 3.95
2015 Col 4 5 25 - 31 60 0 0 55.2 56 27 26 4 32 4 62 1.58 4.20
2016 Oak 6 4 3 - 10 68 0 0 65.2 65 30 29 6 30 1 60 1.45 3.97
2017 Oak 0 1 0 - 1 22 0 0 21.0 27 16 15 3 17 0 21 2.10 6.43
Career 34 33 144 - 182 493 0 0 470.2 431 212 194 44 238 18 535 1.42 3.71

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Mil 75 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 493 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2011 Mil Total 1 0 3 - 4 6 0 0 7.0 5 1 1 0 2 0 9 1.29
    LDS 1 0 1 - 2 3 0 0 4.0 3 1 1 0 2 0 5 2.25
    LCS 0 0 2 - 2 3 0 0 3.0 2 0 0 0 0 0 4 0.00
2013 StL Total 0 0 0 - 0 6 0 0 5.2 2 1 1 1 4 0 9 1.59
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.1 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.0 2 1 1 1 1 0 4 4.50
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.1 0 0 0 0 1 0 5 0.00
Career 1 0 3 - 4 12 0 0 12.2 7 2 2 1 6 0 18 1.42


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 314 98 93 95.2 66.67
Curveball 77 82 76 78.9 16.35
Cut Fastball 80 96 88 92.1 16.99

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.