Sports and Scores
 
MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#8
Justin Upton
AVG HR RBI
.275 27 97
Team: AtlantaHt / Wt: 6-2 / 204 NFBC ADP: 41.53
Position: LFBorn: 8/25/1987 Birthplace: Norfolk, Virginia
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Diamondbacks (2005)


Latest News
Sep. 11 3:18 PM PT4:18 PM MT5:18 PM CT6:18 PM ET18:18 ET22:18 GMT6:18 3:18 PM MST5:18 PM EST5:48 PM VEN2:18 UAE (+1)5:18 PM CT-Upton went 2 for 5 with three RBIs in Wednesday's win in Washington.
Analysis: Upton had been in a 2-for-17 slump, but he's 3 for 9 with five RBIs in his last two games. His 96 for the season are already a career high.
Sep. 2 6:28 PM PT7:28 PM MT8:28 PM CT9:28 PM ET21:28 ET1:28 GMT9:28 6:28 PM MST8:28 PM EST8:58 PM VEN5:28 UAE (+1)8:28 PM CT-Upton has left Atlanta's game against Philadelphia Tuesday night with a bruised left triceps.
Analysis: Upton was hit on the left arm by a pitch from Kyle Kendrick in the first inning of Tuesday night's game. Upton remained in the game until the sixth inning, when Ryan Doumit took over in left field. The Braves say he is day to day. Upton has a team-best 26 homers and 91 RBIs.
Aug. 27 1:55 PM PT2:55 PM MT3:55 PM CT4:55 PM ET16:55 ET20:55 GMT4:55 1:55 PM MST3:55 PM EST4:25 PM VEN0:55 UAE (+1)3:55 PM CT-Upton went 3 for 3 with an RBI in Tuesday's loss to the New York Mets.
Analysis: Upton had been 0 for 9 in his previous two games, but he's batting .379 with 21 RBIs in his last 16 games.
Aug. 20 3:02 PM PT4:02 PM MT5:02 PM CT6:02 PM ET18:02 ET22:02 GMT6:02 3:02 PM MST5:02 PM EST5:32 PM VEN2:02 UAE (+1)5:02 PM CT-Upton homered and drove in five runs in Tuesday's win over Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Upton has hit safely in 10 straight. In his last 12, he's got a .480 on-base percentage with five home runs and 16 RBIs.
Aug. 15 9:23 PM PT10:23 PM MT11:23 PM CT12:23 AM ET0:23 ET4:23 GMT12:23 9:23 PM MST11:23 PM EST11:53 PM VEN8:23 UAE11:23 PM CT-Upton returned Friday for Atlanta.
Analysis: Upton left Thursday's game with a mild left hamstring strain.
July 31 2:14 PM PT3:14 PM MT4:14 PM CT5:14 PM ET17:14 ET21:14 GMT5:14 2:14 PM MST4:14 PM EST4:44 PM VEN1:14 UAE (+1)4:14 PM CT-Upton had three hits with a homer Wednesday.
Analysis: Upton is 4 for 8 in the series.
July 25 12:44 PM PT1:44 PM MT2:44 PM CT3:44 PM ET15:44 ET19:44 GMT3:44 12:44 PM MST2:44 PM EST3:14 PM VEN23:44 UAE2:44 PM CT-Upton was 3 for 4 with his 23rd double in Thursday's 3-2 loss to Miami.
Analysis: Upton is hitting .367 over his last 16 games with 11 runs scored and 10 driven in.
July 23 12:13 PM PT1:13 PM MT2:13 PM CT3:13 PM ET15:13 ET19:13 GMT3:13 12:13 PM MST2:13 PM EST2:43 PM VEN23:13 UAE2:13 PM CT-Upton hit his 18th homer of the season in Tuesday's 6-5 loss to Miami.
Analysis: It marked Upton's first homer in 13 games, though he's been hitting well lately, going 17 for 49 (.347) over his last 12 games.
July 20 4:30 PM PT5:30 PM MT6:30 PM CT7:30 PM ET19:30 ET23:30 GMT7:30 4:30 PM MST6:30 PM EST7:00 PM VEN3:30 UAE (+1)6:30 PM CT-Upton is suffering from triceps tightness.
Analysis: Upton was removed Sunday due to this issue.
July 13 12:29 PM PT1:29 PM MT2:29 PM CT3:29 PM ET15:29 ET19:29 GMT3:29 12:29 PM MST2:29 PM EST2:59 PM VEN23:29 UAE2:29 PM CT-Upton drove in a season-high four runs in a 11-6 win over the Chicago Cubs on Saturday.
Analysis: Upton, batting .275, also had two hits for fifth time in eight games. He's 10 for 32 (.313) with eight RBIs during that stretch.
July 6 10:31 AM PT11:31 AM MT12:31 PM CT1:31 PM ET13:31 ET17:31 GMT1:31 10:31 AM MST12:31 PM EST1:01 PM VEN21:31 UAE12:31 PM CT-Upton went 2 for 3 with three RBIs in Saturday's 10-4 win over Arizona.
Analysis: Upton has been scuffling so this may move him in the right direction.
June 29 10:13 AM PT11:13 AM MT12:13 PM CT1:13 PM ET13:13 ET17:13 GMT1:13 10:13 AM MST12:13 PM EST12:43 PM VEN21:13 UAE12:13 PM CT-Upton went 4 for 10 with four RBIs in Atlanta's doubleheader sweep over Philadelphia on Saturday.
Analysis: Upton, batting .281, is 10 for 28 (.357) with two doubles, two homers and nine RBIs in his last seven games.
June 26 3:50 PM PT4:50 PM MT5:50 PM CT6:50 PM ET18:50 ET22:50 GMT6:50 3:50 PM MST5:50 PM EST6:20 PM VEN2:50 UAE (+1)5:50 PM CT-Upton homered for the second straight game and 16th time this season Wednesday at Houston.
Analysis: Upton had homered only twice in a span of 27 games before going yard in each of the last two.
June 10 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Atlanta Braves outfielder Justin Upton has left Tuesday's game against Colorado with a strained left hamstring. He is day to day, the team announced.
Analysis: Upton singled in the top of the first inning and scored on Tommy La Stella's single. When Atlanta took the field in the bottom of the first he was replaced in left field by Jordan Schafer. Upton is hitting .292 with 14 home runs and 36 RBIs this season.
May 26 6:58 PM PT7:58 PM MT8:58 PM CT9:58 PM ET21:58 ET1:58 GMT9:58 6:58 PM MST8:58 PM EST9:28 PM VEN5:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-Upton stayed hot with his 13th home run in Sunday's 7-0 win over Colorado.
Analysis: Upton is batting .407 with four homers and 11 RBIs in his last eight games.
May 22 3:15 PM PT4:15 PM MT5:15 PM CT6:15 PM ET18:15 ET22:15 GMT6:15 3:15 PM MST5:15 PM EST5:45 PM VEN2:15 UAE (+1)5:15 PM CT-Upton had three hits - including a double - and knocked in the only Atlanta run in a 6-1 loss to visiting Milwaukee on Wednesday.
Analysis: Upton is 8 for 14 with three homers and seven RBIs in his last four games.
May 10 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)9:04 PM CT-Upton is not starting against the Cubs as he recovers from a lower back muscle bruise.
Analysis: Upton was hurt when he was hit by a pitch from Jeff Samardzija on Saturday night. He had to leave the game. Ryan Doumit is filling in for Upton on Sunday, but Upton says his back is a little better and he hopes to play on Monday at San Francisco.
May 7 1:04 PM PT2:04 PM MT3:04 PM CT4:04 PM ET16:04 ET20:04 GMT4:04 1:04 PM MST3:04 PM EST3:34 PM VEN0:04 UAE (+1)3:04 PM CT-Upton had a nice day at the dish Tuesday, going 2 for 4 with his ninth homer of the season.
Analysis: Upton had as many hits Tuesday as he had totaled in his previous five games over 19 at-bats.
May 6 3:08 PM PT4:08 PM MT5:08 PM CT6:08 PM ET18:08 ET22:08 GMT6:08 3:08 PM MST5:08 PM EST5:38 PM VEN2:08 UAE (+1)5:08 PM CT-Upton went 0 for 4 with four strikeouts Monday.
Analysis: Upton has been awful, striking out nine times in his last 15 at-bats with just one hit.
May 1 2:37 PM PT3:37 PM MT4:37 PM CT5:37 PM ET17:37 ET21:37 GMT5:37 2:37 PM MST4:37 PM EST5:07 PM VEN1:37 UAE (+1)4:37 PM CT-Upton was 1 for 4 with his eighth home run of the season and third in four games Wednesday at Miami.
Analysis: Upton has driven in six RBIs over his last four games.
Apr. 27 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)9:58 PM CT-Upton went 3 for 3 with a homer in Saturday's 4-1 win over Cincinnati.
Analysis: Upton, who also stole a base, has done it all for fantasy owners in the early going. He's batting .321 with seven long balls.
Apr. 26 12:48 PM PT1:48 PM MT2:48 PM CT3:48 PM ET15:48 ET19:48 GMT3:48 12:48 PM MST2:48 PM EST3:18 PM VEN23:48 UAE2:48 PM CT-Upton hit his sixth home run of the season on Friday, a three-run shot off Homer Bailey.
Analysis: Considering Upton's OPS of .944 is one of the top 20 marks in baseball, his 15 RBIs are a little disappointing. He's just 5 for 23 with runners in scoring position.
Apr. 20 1:54 PM PT2:54 PM MT3:54 PM CT4:54 PM ET16:54 ET20:54 GMT4:54 1:54 PM MST3:54 PM EST4:24 PM VEN0:54 UAE (+1)3:54 PM CT-Upton hit the go-ahead 3-run homer in the 9th inning, leading Atlanta to a 7-5 victory over the New York Mets on Sautrday. Upton was 3 for 5 on the day, with two runs scored.
Analysis: Despite striking out twice in the game, Upton still raised his on-base percentage to .419 with the strong performance.
Apr. 14 3:37 PM PT4:37 PM MT5:37 PM CT6:37 PM ET18:37 ET22:37 GMT6:37 3:37 PM MST5:37 PM EST6:07 PM VEN2:37 UAE (+1)5:37 PM CT-Upton was 2 for 3 with his fourth homer in four games Sunday against Washington.
Analysis: Upton is 11 for 14 over his last four games with eight RBIs.
Apr. 13 5:33 PM PT6:33 PM MT7:33 PM CT8:33 PM ET20:33 ET0:33 GMT8:33 5:33 PM MST7:33 PM EST8:03 PM VEN4:33 UAE (+1)7:33 PM CT-Upton recorded his third straight three-hit game, doubling twice Saturday against Washington.
Analysis: Upton is 14 for 26 with five extra-base hits over his last seven games after going 1 for 15 with seven strikeouts through his first four games.
Apr. 12 5:19 PM PT6:19 PM MT7:19 PM CT8:19 PM ET20:19 ET0:19 GMT8:19 5:19 PM MST7:19 PM EST7:49 PM VEN4:19 UAE (+1)7:19 PM CT-Jordan Schafer scored from first base on Justin Upton's bloop single to right field with two outs in the 10th inning, giving the Atlanta Braves a 7-6 win over the Washington Nationals on Friday night.
Analysis: Upton had three hits, including a solo homer in the eighth inning. Upton has six hits, three home runs and five RBIs in his last two games. He's also 11 for 22 in his past six.
Apr. 11 4:04 PM PT5:04 PM MT6:04 PM CT7:04 PM ET19:04 ET23:04 GMT7:04 4:04 PM MST6:04 PM EST6:34 PM VEN3:04 UAE (+1)6:04 PM CT-Eric Young Jr. got three hits, stole three bases and scored four times as the New York Mets overcame Justin Upton's two home runs to beat the Atlanta Braves 6-4 on Thursday night.
Analysis: Upton drove in three runs with three hits. He's 8 for 19 (.421) in his last five games after starting the season 1 for 15 with seven strikeouts.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Ari 43 140 17 31 8 3 2 11 11 37 2 0 .221 .283 .364
2008 Ari 108 356 52 89 19 6 15 42 54 121 1 4 .250 .353 .463
2009 Ari 138 526 84 158 30 7 26 86 55 137 20 5 .300 .366 .532
2010 Ari 133 495 73 135 27 3 17 69 64 152 18 8 .273 .356 .442
2011 Ari 159 592 105 171 39 5 31 88 59 126 21 9 .289 .369 .529
2012 Ari 150 554 107 155 24 4 17 67 63 121 18 8 .280 .355 .430
2013 Atl 149 558 94 147 27 2 27 70 75 161 8 1 .263 .354 .464
2014 Atl 144 528 73 145 33 2 27 97 58 156 7 3 .275 .348 .498
Career 1024 3749 605 1031 207 32 162 530 439 1011 95 38 .275 .355 .477

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Ari Total 6 14 2 5 1 1 0 1 3 3 1 0 .357 .526 .571
    LDS 2 5 2 3 0 0 0 1 3 0 1 0 .600 .750 .600
    LCS 4 9 0 2 1 1 0 0 0 3 0 0 .222 .364 .556
2011 Ari Total 5 20 3 4 0 0 2 3 3 6 0 0 .200 .304 .500
    LDS 5 20 3 4 0 0 2 3 3 6 0 0 .200 .304 .500
2013 Atl Total 4 14 2 2 1 0 0 0 4 4 0 0 .143 .333 .214
    LDS 4 14 2 2 1 0 0 0 4 4 0 0 .143 .333 .214
Career 15 48 7 11 2 1 2 4 10 13 1 0 .229 .383 .438


? © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.

Audio On Demand

Christopher Price - New d…

Christopher Price - New drug policy will not shorten Browner and Tyms suspension, 9-17-14

Christopher Price, WEEI.com spoke with the guys about the new NFL drug policy and what it means for certain players in the league. He also spoke about the importance of getting Danny Amendola involved in the offense. The Patriots are still trying to find the BEST way to utilize Chandler Jones. And rookie Raiders QB Derek Carr is a bit of a wild-card heading into Sunday's match up.

It Is What It Is Cast: Patriots prepare for home opener vs. Raiders

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price preview the Patriots' home opener against the Oakland Raiders, a team they should beat without too much trouble.

Inside the NFL : Peter King with Dale and Holley

We check in with Peter King from SI/MMQB for our weekly look at the National Football League and more.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Bo…

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, "I think Rondo is going to go, I just don't see where and how yet" 7-17-14

Jackie Mac joins the guys to discuss her thoughts on a possible mid-season tournament in the NBA, LeBron's return to Cleveland, trade rumors with the Celtics and Red Sox, and Darrelle Revis' contract situation.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston: I believe Rondo will be traded 7-10-14

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston to talk about the Lebron James Saga, the possibility of Rajon Rondo being traded, and the future of Marcus Smart.

OK State Men's Basketball coach, Travis Ford, joins MFB to talk about Marcus Smart, 6-30-14

Former coach of Celtics 1st-round pick Marcus Smart, Travis Ford joins MFB to talk about what Celtics fans should expect from the strong point guard. Among other things, Coach Ford says Smart will be a hard worker, and will improve his shooting ability.

Sox Manager John Farrell …

Sox Manager John Farrell with Dale and Holley

As the season winds down, We check in Sox skipper John Farrell as we await the Boston debut of Rusney Castillo.

Buster Olney, ESPN, talks Orioles, Red Sox offense, and David Ortiz, 9-17-14

The Orioles seemed to have a lot of fun last night clinching the AL East. Buster said the biggest problem for Boston this year was the offense production dropping so dramatically in one year. Bogaerts, Pierzynski, and Bradley Jr. are the most obvious culprits. Also, Buster surmises that the Red Sox front office has to be a little uneasy with the fact that their best offensive player, David Ortiz, is in this LATE 30's.

Xander Bogaerts with Joe & Dave after the last game of the series in Kansas City

Joe & Dave talked to the Sox rookie shortstop, who hit a 3-run homer in the 8-4 win.

The Bradfo Show: Talking …

The Bradfo Show: Talking Bruins roster moves with DJ Bean, Turtleboy

Rob Bradford is joined by WEEI.com Bruins beat writer DJ Bean, as well as Boston sports fan/blogger Turtleboy to talk all things Bruins free agency. With the B's recent moves, the conversation turns to where the Bruins might next turn and what kind of dent losing Jarome Iginla and Shawn Thornton might make.

DJ Bean breaks down the first hours of NHL Free Agency 7-1-14

DJ discusses Shawn Thornton's new deal, and the on going negotiations with Jerome Iginla

DJ Bean, WEEI.com. The Bruins are not traded Marchand 6-13-14

DJ Bean joins the program to dismiss the recent rumors that the Bruins are in discussions to trade Brad Marchand to the Sharks for Patrick Marleau

Jim Souhan on Adrian Pete…

Jim Souhan on Adrian Peterson 9-17-14

Jim Souhan of the Minneapolis Star Tribune on Adrian Peterson.

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Everett gets a casino 9-17-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane.

Adrian Peterson finally reprimanded 9-17-14

The guys react to the Adrian Peterson news.

Buster Olney, ESPN, talks…

Buster Olney, ESPN, talks Orioles, Red Sox offense, and David Ortiz, 9-17-14

The Orioles seemed to have a lot of fun last night clinching the AL East. Buster said the biggest problem for Boston this year was the offense production dropping so dramatically in one year. Bogaerts, Pierzynski, and Bradley Jr. are the most obvious culprits. Also, Buster surmises that the Red Sox front office has to be a little uneasy with the fact that their best offensive player, David Ortiz, is in this LATE 30's.

Christopher Price - New drug policy will not shorten Browner and Tyms suspension, 9-17-14

Christopher Price, WEEI.com spoke with the guys about the new NFL drug policy and what it means for certain players in the league. He also spoke about the importance of getting Danny Amendola involved in the offense. The Patriots are still trying to find the BEST way to utilize Chandler Jones. And rookie Raiders QB Derek Carr is a bit of a wild-card heading into Sunday's match up.

Three For All - Lolo Jones is a horrible dancer, 9-17-14

LeBron James will be starring in a movie as... LeBron James. TMZ reveals PHOTOS of Danielle Watts having sex with her boyfriend in broad daylight. Lolo Jones is an awkward, bad, excuse-making dancer.

Did the NFL cave because …

Did the NFL cave because of sponsors and their money, or are the sponsors hypocritical too?

We discuss the NFL's moves to put Adrian Peterson and Greg Hardy on a 'reserve/Commissioner's exemption' list. Is it because of threats from paying sponsors? Or are the sponsors themselves bathing in hypocrisy?

John Farrell speaks with Dale and Holley about the Red Sox debut for Rusney Castillo

As the season winds down, We check in Sox skipper John Farrell as we await the Boston debut of Rusney Castillo.

UNH Law Professor Michael McCann speaks to Dale and Holley about the NFL's ongoing legal cases with Adrian Peterson and Ray Rice

We check in with the great Michael McCann for his insight on the latest legal developments for the NFL.

Jim Koch joins Planet Mik…

Jim Koch joins Planet Mikey

Co-founder and chairman of the Boston Beer Company, Jim Koch, talks about his Sam Adams beer and the history of his brewery.

Danny Picard talks Red Sox and Patriots with Mike Giardi

Danny picard is filling in for Mikey and talks with CSNNE's Mike Giardi about Clay Buchholz heading up the Red Sox pitching rotation, and how the Patriots have looked through training camp so far.

Jon Lester's Contract Situation and the Future

Mut and Villani are talking about whether the Red Sox will give Jon Lester the type of contract he is looking for, or whether they might be shopping him with rumors of the Red Sox scouting Cole Hamels.

Dennis & Callahan's Break…

Dennis & Callahan's Breaking Balls Podcast: The NFL's hot mess, Jenny Dell and who has bad breath.

Dennis, Callahan and Minihane make their podcast debut. This week's topics include Adrian Peterson, Greg Hardy, Jenny Dell and some discussion on people we've encountered with the worst breath.

Minor Details Ep. 100: A minor centennial with Rob Bradford, Mike Hazen and Jim Callis

The 100th Minor Details podcast revisits some old friends, as WEEI.com's Rob Bradford, Red Sox assistant GM Mike Hazen and MLB.com prospect guru Jim Callis, who were the guests on the first show in November 2010, join the show anew.

The Bradfo Show: Everything you need to know about Dustin Pedroia's surgery

Rob Bradford is joined by Dr. Evan Schumer of Newton Wellesley Orthopaediac Associates to discuss exactly what kind of surgery was performed on Red Sox second baseman Dustin Pedroia, the recovery time that accompanies such a procedure and why the operation might be just what the doctored ordered.

Tom Brady on the week two…

Tom Brady on the week two win 9-15-14

Tom Brady joined the show to discuss the week two win.

More from this show

Rodney Harrison chooses n…

Rodney Harrison chooses not to comment on Adrian Peterson, 9-16-14

Former Patriot and current NBC Sports Analyst, Rodney Harrison talks about how bad the Pats looked in a convincing win. The guys also tried to get him to talk about the Adrian Peterson accusations and he refused.

More from this show

Tim Hasselbeck on Adrian …

Tim Hasselbeck on Adrian Peterson 9-15-14

Tim Hasselbeck on week two in the NFL and the Adrian Peterson mess.

More from this show

Dennis & Callahan's Break…

Dennis & Callahan's Breaking Balls Podcast: The NFL's hot mess, Jenny Dell and who has bad breath.

Dennis, Callahan and Minihane make their podcast debut. This week's topics include Adrian Peterson, Greg Hardy, Jenny Dell and some discussion on people we've encountered with the worst breath.

More from this show

Breaking Balls Podcast: T…

Breaking Balls Podcast: The NFL's hot mess, Jenny Dell and who has bad breath.

Dennis, Callahan and Minihane make their podcast debut. This week's topics include Adrian Peterson, Greg Hardy, Jenny Dell and some discussion on people we've encountered with the worst breath.

More from this show

Weei Writers