Sports and Scores
 
MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#10
Edwin Encarnacion
AVG HR RBI
.268 34 98
Team: TorontoHt / Wt: 6-1 / 230 NFBC ADP: 17.28
Position: 1BBorn: 1/7/1983 Birthplace: La Romana, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 9th Round by Rangers (2000)


Latest News
Sep. 24 3:09 PM PT4:09 PM MT5:09 PM CT6:09 PM ET18:09 ET22:09 GMT6:09 3:09 PM MST5:09 PM EST5:39 PM VEN2:09 UAE (+1)5:09 PM CT-Encarnacion was awesome Tuesday.
Analysis: Encarnacion had a two-run homer and had four RBIs for the Jays.
Sep. 21 5:43 PM PT6:43 PM MT7:43 PM CT8:43 PM ET20:43 ET0:43 GMT8:43 5:43 PM MST7:43 PM EST8:13 PM VEN4:43 UAE (+1)7:43 PM CT-Encarnacion was 3 for 5 with his 27th double in a 6-3 win over the Yankees on Saturday.
Analysis: Encarnacion has driven in nine runs over his last 10 games.
Sep. 10 3:02 PM PT4:02 PM MT5:02 PM CT6:02 PM ET18:02 ET22:02 GMT6:02 3:02 PM MST5:02 PM EST5:32 PM VEN2:02 UAE (+1)5:02 PM CT-Encarnacion went 3 for 5 with a double in Tuesday's 9-2 win over the Cubs.
Analysis: He's hitting .286 with three homers and five RBIs over his last nine games.
Sep. 6 3:14 PM PT4:14 PM MT5:14 PM CT6:14 PM ET18:14 ET22:14 GMT6:14 3:14 PM MST5:14 PM EST5:44 PM VEN2:14 UAE (+1)5:14 PM CT-Encarnacion homered in Friday's loss at Boston to reach 30 home runs for a third straight season.
Analysis: He has three homers in his last five games, though it's been just a 4-for-19 stretch.
Aug. 15 2:40 PM PT3:40 PM MT4:40 PM CT5:40 PM ET17:40 ET21:40 GMT5:40 2:40 PM MST4:40 PM EST5:10 PM VEN1:40 UAE (+1)4:40 PM CT-The Toronto Blue Jays have activated slugger Edwin Encarnacion from the 15-day disabled list and sent outfielder Anthony Gose to the minors.
Analysis: Encarnacion missed more than a month because of a strained right quadriceps muscle. The first baseman and designated hitter just completed a rehab stint with Triple-A Buffalo and hit a grand slam in his first game.
July 7 1:13 PM PT2:13 PM MT3:13 PM CT4:13 PM ET16:13 ET20:13 GMT4:13 1:13 PM MST3:13 PM EST3:43 PM VEN0:13 UAE (+1)3:13 PM CT-Encarnacion has suffered a setback as he tries to return, according to MLB's official website.
Analysis: Encarnacion is on the 15-day disabled list because of a strained right quadriceps. He likely won't be back until Aug. 5 at the earliest.
July 5 8:42 PM PT9:42 PM MT10:42 PM CT11:42 PM ET23:42 ET3:42 GMT11:42 8:42 PM MST10:42 PM EST11:12 PM VEN7:42 UAE (+1)10:42 PM CT-Encarnacion left the Toronto Blue Jays' game against the Oakland Athletics in the first inning on Saturday with an apparent right leg injury.
Analysis: Encarnacion beat out a double play ball, which allowed Jose Reyes to score, but he began limping just as he reached first base. The first baseman has 26 home runs and 70 RBIs for the Blue Jays.
July 4 1:26 PM PT2:26 PM MT3:26 PM CT4:26 PM ET16:26 ET20:26 GMT4:26 1:26 PM MST3:26 PM EST3:56 PM VEN0:26 UAE (+1)3:26 PM CT-Encarnacion extended his hit streak to 11 games in a 4-1 loss to Oakland on Thursday night.
Analysis: Encarnacion, batting .281, is hitting .410 (16 for 39) during his streak and .388 (26 for 67) in his last 18 games.
July 3 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-Encarnacion crushed a walkoff three-run homer in Wednesday's 7-4 win over Milwaukee.
Analysis: Encarnacion, who finished 2 for 4, is batting .429 with three homers and seven RBIs during a 10-game hitting streak.
June 25 4:52 PM PT5:52 PM MT6:52 PM CT7:52 PM ET19:52 ET23:52 GMT7:52 4:52 PM MST6:52 PM EST7:22 PM VEN3:52 UAE (+1)6:52 PM CT-Encarnacion started at designated hitter in Wednesday's series finale against the New York Yankees, one day after he was struck in the back of the head by Mark Teixeira's elbow in a collision at first base.
Analysis: Encarnacion entered play Wednesday batting .277 with team-highs of 24 home runs and 63 RBIs. Adam Lind started at first base against New York.
June 24 12:55 PM PT1:55 PM MT2:55 PM CT3:55 PM ET15:55 ET19:55 GMT3:55 12:55 PM MST2:55 PM EST3:25 PM VEN23:55 UAE2:55 PM CT-Encarnacion had three hits Monday.
Analysis: Encarnacion did not add to his major league-best 24 homers but that could happen Tuesday vs. David Phelps.
June 23 2:19 PM PT3:19 PM MT4:19 PM CT5:19 PM ET17:19 ET21:19 GMT5:19 2:19 PM MST4:19 PM EST4:49 PM VEN1:19 UAE (+1)4:19 PM CT-Encarnacion led off the Toronto eighth with his 24th home run, connecting against his former team Sunday.
Analysis: Encarnacion leads the majors in homers with four in his last four games.
June 21 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Encarnacion recorded his sixth multihomer game of the season Friday against Cincinnati, connecting on his 22nd and 23rd homers of the year.
Analysis: Encarnacion is 10 for 25 over his last six games with eight RBIs.
June 20 8:36 AM PT9:36 AM MT10:36 AM CT11:36 AM ET11:36 ET15:36 GMT23:36 8:36 AM MST10:36 AM EST11:06 AM VEN19:36 UAE10:36 AM CT-Encarnacion went 2 for 4 with his 21st home run in Thursday's 6-4 loss at Yankee Stadium.
Analysis: Encarnacion has gone 8 for 20 in his last five games, but it was his first homer since June 9. He's second in the majors behind Nelson Cruz of Baltimore in home runs.
June 16 3:03 PM PT4:03 PM MT5:03 PM CT6:03 PM ET18:03 ET22:03 GMT6:03 3:03 PM MST5:03 PM EST5:33 PM VEN2:03 UAE (+1)5:03 PM CT-Encarnacion had three hits and scored twice in Sunday's 5-2 win at Baltimore.
Analysis: Encarnacion had been hitless in four consecutive games until going 5 for 9 with three doubles in his last two.
June 10 2:44 PM PT3:44 PM MT4:44 PM CT5:44 PM ET17:44 ET21:44 GMT5:44 2:44 PM MST4:44 PM EST5:14 PM VEN1:44 UAE (+1)4:44 PM CT-Encarnacion went 2 for 3 with a home run and three RBIs in Monday's win over Minnesota.
Analysis: It was his 20th homer of the season.
June 5 10:35 AM PT11:35 AM MT12:35 PM CT1:35 PM ET13:35 ET17:35 GMT1:35 10:35 AM MST12:35 PM EST1:05 PM VEN21:35 UAE12:35 PM CT-Encarnacion is out of the starting lineup for Thursday's game at Detroit with what the team describes as a minor back problem.
Analysis: Manager John Gibbons says he wants to let Encarnacion rest Thursday, but he hopes the first baseman will be able to play Friday night against the St. Louis Cardinals.
May 27 12:19 PM PT1:19 PM MT2:19 PM CT3:19 PM ET15:19 ET19:19 GMT3:19 12:19 PM MST2:19 PM EST2:49 PM VEN23:19 UAE2:19 PM CT-Encarnacion went 3 for 5 with a home run in Monday's win over Tampa Bay.
Analysis: He's homered in back-to-back games, but that's hardly been unusual for him with nine homers and 14 RBIs in his last 11 games.
May 16 3:44 PM PT4:44 PM MT5:44 PM CT6:44 PM ET18:44 ET22:44 GMT6:44 3:44 PM MST5:44 PM EST6:14 PM VEN2:44 UAE (+1)5:44 PM CT-Encarnacion went 3 for 4 with two home runs and a double in Thursday's win over Cleveland.
Analysis: Since his last two-homer show, Encarnacion had gone 3 for 21 in six games. He has six home runs in his last 10 games after hitting two in his first 32 of the season.
May 9 12:48 PM PT1:48 PM MT2:48 PM CT3:48 PM ET15:48 ET19:48 GMT3:48 12:48 PM MST2:48 PM EST3:18 PM VEN23:48 UAE2:48 PM CT-Encarnacion continued his power surge by hitting two of Toronto's five home runs in a 12-6 win over Philadelphia on Thursday.
Analysis: Encarnacion, who had three hits Thursday, is 7 for 13 with four homers, one triple and seven RBIs in his last three games.
May 8 1:30 PM PT2:30 PM MT3:30 PM CT4:30 PM ET16:30 ET20:30 GMT4:30 1:30 PM MST3:30 PM EST4:00 PM VEN0:30 UAE (+1)3:30 PM CT-Encarnacion collected two hits while homering for the second straight game Wednesday against Philadelphia.
Analysis: Encarnacion has doubled his season home run total to four in the last two days.
May 7 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET20:38 GMT4:38 1:38 PM MST3:38 PM EST4:08 PM VEN0:38 UAE (+1)3:38 PM CT-Encarnacion was 2 for 5 with his third home run of the season Tuesday at Philadelphia after going hitless in 12 at-bats over his previous three games.
Analysis: Encarnacion's .727 OPS isn't too impressive considering the .941 and .904 marks he put up over the past two seasons.
May 6 9:41 AM PT10:41 AM MT11:41 AM CT12:41 PM ET12:41 ET16:41 GMT0:41 9:41 AM MST11:41 AM EST12:11 PM VEN20:41 UAE11:41 AM CT-Encarnacion is slumping, going hitless in 12 at-bats and showing little power.
Analysis: Encarnacion has a .700 OPS with a pathetic .374 slugging percentage. He has homered twice and when his next one comes is anybody's guess.
May 1 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Encarnacion had two hits and one RBI on Wednesday.
Analysis: Encarnacion has a OPS of .747 - that's a nice number for an airplane but needs to be better for a hitter of his fantasy caliber who has topped .900 in OPS each of the last two seasons.
Apr. 28 2:45 PM PT3:45 PM MT4:45 PM CT5:45 PM ET17:45 ET21:45 GMT5:45 2:45 PM MST4:45 PM EST5:15 PM VEN1:45 UAE (+1)4:45 PM CT-Encarnacion recorded his seventh and eighth doubles of the season Sunday against Boston.
Analysis: Encarnacion owns a .404 on-base percentage over his last 13 games with 12 RBIs.
Apr. 23 12:08 PM PT1:08 PM MT2:08 PM CT3:08 PM ET15:08 ET19:08 GMT3:08 12:08 PM MST2:08 PM EST2:38 PM VEN23:08 UAE2:08 PM CT-Encarnacion, Melky Cabrera and Brett Lawrie hit three-run homers in a 9-3 win over Baltimore on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Encarnacion, batting .228, is 10 for 33 (.303) with eight RBIs in his last eight games.
Apr. 14 3:01 PM PT4:01 PM MT5:01 PM CT6:01 PM ET18:01 ET22:01 GMT6:01 3:01 PM MST5:01 PM EST5:31 PM VEN2:01 UAE (+1)5:01 PM CT-Encarnacion was 3 for 4 with two doubles and his first two RBIs of the season Sunday against Baltimore.
Analysis: Encarnacion is off to a rough start, slugging just .340.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2005 Cin 69 211 25 49 16 0 9 31 20 60 3 0 .232 .308 .436
2006 Cin 117 406 60 112 33 1 15 72 41 78 6 3 .276 .359 .473
2007 Cin 139 502 66 145 25 1 16 76 39 86 8 1 .289 .356 .438
2008 Cin 146 506 75 127 29 1 26 68 61 102 1 0 .251 .340 .466
2009 Cin 43 139 10 29 6 1 5 16 24 38 1 1 .209 .333 .374
2009 Tor 42 154 25 37 5 1 8 23 13 29 1 0 .240 .306 .442
2009 Tot 85 293 35 66 11 2 13 39 37 67 2 1 .225 .320 .410
2010 Tor 96 332 47 81 16 0 21 51 29 60 1 0 .244 .305 .482
2011 Tor 134 481 70 131 36 0 17 55 43 77 8 2 .272 .334 .453
2012 Tor 151 542 93 152 24 0 42 110 84 94 13 3 .280 .384 .557
2013 Tor 142 530 90 144 29 1 36 104 82 62 7 1 .272 .370 .534
2014 Tor 128 477 75 128 27 2 34 98 62 82 2 0 .268 .354 .547
Career 1207 4280 636 1135 246 8 229 704 498 768 51 11 .265 .349 .487

Postseason


? © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.

Audio On Demand

NFL Sunday: The Patriots …

NFL Sunday: The Patriots offensive line -- a quick fix or a season-long issue? 9-28-14

Greg, Steve and Chris zero in on the O-line specifically and look at what it will take to right the ship. Is the running game a solution or more blocking from TE's, LaFell etc. ?

NFL Sunday: A look at the Pats offensive struggles early on 9-28-14

The boys discuss what is going on with the Pats offense and why Brady has looked a little off so far. Is it O-line or WR issues? They specifically discuss Amendola, Thompkins and Dobson - who's the odd man out?

NFL Sunday: Recapping a tough victory over Oakland and looking ahead to Kansas City 9-28-14

Greg Dickerson, Steve DeOssie and Chris Price kick off NFL Sunday discussing why the Patriots struggled so much against Oakland at home. This week on Monday Night Football, it doesn't get any easier as New England visits noisy Arrowhead Stadium. Is this going to be an issue for the under-performing offensive line? Also, where has the Revis affect been?

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Bo…

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, "I think Rondo is going to go, I just don't see where and how yet" 7-17-14

Jackie Mac joins the guys to discuss her thoughts on a possible mid-season tournament in the NBA, LeBron's return to Cleveland, trade rumors with the Celtics and Red Sox, and Darrelle Revis' contract situation.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston: I believe Rondo will be traded 7-10-14

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston to talk about the Lebron James Saga, the possibility of Rajon Rondo being traded, and the future of Marcus Smart.

OK State Men's Basketball coach, Travis Ford, joins MFB to talk about Marcus Smart, 6-30-14

Former coach of Celtics 1st-round pick Marcus Smart, Travis Ford joins MFB to talk about what Celtics fans should expect from the strong point guard. Among other things, Coach Ford says Smart will be a hard worker, and will improve his shooting ability.

Joe Castiglione wraps up …

Joe Castiglione wraps up the 2014 Red Sox Season with a Poem

Joe Castiglione does his annual wrap-up of the season by reading the poem by Bart Giamatti.

Mut and Bradford on the disappointing season for Jackie Bradley, Jr and Xander Bogaerts 9-28-14

Mut and Rob discuss the "kids" and the variety of young bodies the Red Sox called upon this season. Specifically, they look at Bogaerts and Bradley, Jr. and where things went wrong. They give their opinions on which one will right the ship next season.

Minor Details Ep. 101: Red Sox director of player development Ben Crockett on the state of the Red Sox system

Description: Red Sox farm director Ben Crockett looks back at the 2014 Red Sox prospect season by answering listener questions about a number of Red Sox prospects as well as broader issues and themes in the farm system.

Bruins sign Torey Krug an…

Bruins sign Torey Krug and Reilly Smith, 9-29-14

DJ Bean, WEEI.com, joined the guys to talk about the Bruins signing two young stars to 1-year contracts.

The Bradfo Show: Talking Bruins roster moves with DJ Bean, Turtleboy

Rob Bradford is joined by WEEI.com Bruins beat writer DJ Bean, as well as Boston sports fan/blogger Turtleboy to talk all things Bruins free agency. With the B's recent moves, the conversation turns to where the Bruins might next turn and what kind of dent losing Jarome Iginla and Shawn Thornton might make.

DJ Bean breaks down the first hours of NHL Free Agency 7-1-14

DJ discusses Shawn Thornton's new deal, and the on going negotiations with Jerome Iginla

Tim Hasselbeck on Patriot…

Tim Hasselbeck on Patriots Chiefs 9-29-14

Tim Hasselbeck on tonight's game at Arrowhead.

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Saturday Night Live is not funny 9-29-14`

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane.

Over the top Derek Jeter ceremony 9-29-14

The guys opened the show reacting to the over the top celebration of Jeter at Fenway.

Kendall Gammon, 101 "The …

Kendall Gammon, 101 "The Fox", talks KC Chiefs, 9-29-14

Gammon talks about the 1-2 punch of Justin Houston and Tamba Hali going up against the struggling Patriots offensive line. The line will likely have a tough time dealing with the noise at Arrowhead. Gammon also previews what to expect out of guys like Jamaal Charles and Dwayne Bowe.

Three For All - Snoop Dogg hates Todd Haley, 9-29-14

Snoop Dogg takes to Instagram to cuss out Todd Haley's play calling. NBC has a awkward bit of programming. Rob Ryan admits he needs to do more, and throw REX in there too!

Bruins sign Torey Krug and Reilly Smith, 9-29-14

DJ Bean, WEEI.com, joined the guys to talk about the Bruins signing two young stars to 1-year contracts.

How does a professional a…

How does a professional athlete fall in the shower and need surgery? aka somebody get Rondo a bath mat

We discuss the Rajon Rondo injury and conspiracy theories, and whether or not his tale about falling in the shower holds any water. Get it? Shower... water? Nevermind.

Dale and Holley's Final Drive - 9-29-14

We bring you the stuff you might have missed that we didn't have a chance to touch on today.

Dale and Holley's Four at Four - Memorable Goodbyes Edition - 9-29-14

We tackle four topics all inspired by Derek Jeter's long goodbye.

Jim Koch joins Planet Mik…

Jim Koch joins Planet Mikey

Co-founder and chairman of the Boston Beer Company, Jim Koch, talks about his Sam Adams beer and the history of his brewery.

Danny Picard talks Red Sox and Patriots with Mike Giardi

Danny picard is filling in for Mikey and talks with CSNNE's Mike Giardi about Clay Buchholz heading up the Red Sox pitching rotation, and how the Patriots have looked through training camp so far.

Jon Lester's Contract Situation and the Future

Mut and Villani are talking about whether the Red Sox will give Jon Lester the type of contract he is looking for, or whether they might be shopping him with rumors of the Red Sox scouting Cole Hamels.

Minor Details Ep. 101: Re…

Minor Details Ep. 101: Red Sox director of player development Ben Crockett on the state of the Red Sox system

Red Sox farm director Ben Crockett looks back at the 2014 Red Sox prospect season by answering listener questions about a number of Red Sox prospects as well as broader issues and themes in the farm system.

Fantasy Football Podcast – Week 4 Regular Season:

Welcome to the Week 4 Fantasy Football Podcast. Lots of information here starting with Thursday Night Football and what you need to know from a Fantasy Football perspective, the state of the Pats moving forward and the Fantasy Football repercussions involving Tom Brady and company. Is Tom Brady now a Buy-Low Asset? Jim Hackett and Pete Davidson get into it in depth, then hit several other Buy-Low Targets featured in Pete’s latest article http://rotobahn.com/buy-low-sell-high-925/ Enjoy! And make sure you tune in for more on Sunday morning at 6:30am for “The Fantasy Football Hour” on 93.7-FM.

D&C's Breaking Balls Podcast: Jerry Thornton and Boston Sports Media 9-22-14

Jerry Thornton joins Dino and Kirk for the second edition of Breaking Balls. They dive into a variety of topics including their feelings about polarizing Boston sports media members.

Tim Hasselbeck on Patriot…

Tim Hasselbeck on Patriots Chiefs 9-29-14

Tim Hasselbeck on tonight's game at Arrowhead.

More from this show

Headlines, Headlines, Hea…

Over the top Derek Jeter …

Over the top Derek Jeter ceremony 9-29-14

The guys opened the show reacting to the over the top celebration of Jeter at Fenway.

More from this show

The Red Sox honor Derek J…

The Red Sox honor Derek Jeter's final game, 9-29-14

Derek Jeter's 20 year career came to an end Sunday. His last at-bat was an infield single and an RBI. Before the game, the Red Sox paid a lengthy tribute to the Yankee captain. MFB open the show talking about how Red Sox ownership handled the tribute. They also look at the Red Sox dreadful 2014 season and John Farrell's performance.

More from this show

NFL Sunday: Pete Davidson…

Weei Writers